"normal" was a few blocks back...

.
. . Having Fun Being Crazy .
.

new
archives
profile
email
notes
100 things
diaryland

in which we suppose the fun is the most important part
2006-03-17 @ 11:41 a.m.


Hey, Happy St. Patrick's Day to you all. And if you're gonna drink ... which, as far as I know, is the only way to celebrate St. Pat's ... be sure to be safe. I won't be worrying about that myself, as I don't tend to drink on Fridays anymore because I don't want to be in pain for work Saturday morning ... oddly enough, now that I reflect on it, I specifically drank so that I would be hung over, back when I worked my first day at this job. Yeah, that actually seems as bizarre to me as it does to you. I think the idea was that I'd be in too much pain to be nervous -- still seems weird logic to me, and I guess it comes down to whether you'd rather feel weak and listless, have a headache and feel vaguely nauseous, or just feel socially awkward.

So I guess I'm saying, I've apparently been quite crazy for some time now. How come no one told me?

Hey, in job related news, I have an interview (even related to my major) scheduled for Monday. Kind of a woo hoo moment, particulary since I actually was a little hung over this morning (you gotta get your celebrating in when you can) and was therefore more direct and less human-resources-doubletalking than I normally would be. Which is to say, I explained how I may or may not keep my present job (I definitely will until I'm sure I don't hate this one, if I get it) and how I do need to do get my internship hours out of the way in order to graduate, but frankly I have no idea if this job would qualify for that.

In other words, I was able to say, "Just give me the damn job!" And it at least got me an interview. Sweet.

It would be sweeter if I'm actually hired, because the bill collectors that call me 30-40 times a day are switching out. You know, instead of automated ones, it's very put-upon, tired-sounding people calling me leaving vague messages that just say it's deathly important that I call them back. I believe this means those accounts have moved to collections. Whoops. That's what happens when you don't pay bills for several months, tho.

And seriously: I took a three-month vacation from even opening my bills. Once again: that's just crazy, however you slice it. I'd say I don't know what I was thinking, except I do know what I was thinking, and I know it wasn't about financial shit. Well, that stuff did cross my mind, but it really never got to be central. Strangely enough, I'm not actually regretting it. I mean, I seem to be sort of emerging from my fugue state now -- in the least, the reality of having absolutely no cash and a legion of people trying to collect from you is no longer lost on me. I mean, more importantly, some of these are things I simply do have to pay.

It occurs to me I actually haven't paid my electricity bill in three months. Seriously. Why is my computer still on?

Haven't been paying for the computer either, as far as that goes.

So yeah: definitely need that job. Well, any job will do, really. Well, almost. Any job related to psychology. Which is my major, after all.

And if that was lost on you, allow me to repeat it: I am a psych major who's an internship away from earning my bachelor's, who has every intention of working in the social services/mental health field, and eventually continuing my schooling to become a full-fledged counseling psychologist.

And I'm crazy as a sack full of ferrets. Life's ironic that way.

Thoughts?

latest:
Passing Strange, Indeed
- 2008-12-16@12:44 p.m.
Kim
- 2008-05-28@10:47 p.m.
What's New
- 2008-05-20@11:16 p.m.
Hey, Kim
- 2008-01-18@9:18 a.m.
Christmas Was Weird
- 2008-01-03@8:11 p.m.

<< previous | next >>

...passing strange .