"normal" was a few blocks back...

.
. . And ANOTHER Thing .
.

new
archives
profile
email
notes
100 things
diaryland

in which we are not calm yet
2004-04-28 @ 7:12 p.m.


Earlier I ranted a bit about the way men fuck with each other being as bad as the way women do to one another, only in a different style. I mentioned, I think, how women tend to think the seemingly more "direct" approach they see in men is preferable to the kind of cattiness women commonly show.

Bringing this up again only because I think a point was missed, or maybe I didn't say it earlier: Women only think this is better because they don't get to experience the way men treat one another. Understand?

"My guy friends treat me like I'm not a girl." Shyah.

Listen, it's nice when friends of the opposite sex become so comfortable that the normal rules of etiquette that typically apply to mixed company are no longer in effect. Hey, I've been there with people in the past. But let's not lose perspective of what we're talking about.

A guy can be threatened in some sense by a woman, sure. But it's not anything like how he's threatened by another guy. It just isn't. Women can obviously compete with guys. But competition between women tends to take on a whole different aspect.

We're all trained, whether we want it or not, to behave in our gender roles. This dictates not only how we behave towards the opposite sex, but towards our own gender as well. If you take a certain agressive behavior from someone who matches your age, race, sex, and socioeconomic status more or less -- then compare that exact same behavior from someone from a different age, sex, race and all -- yes, very PC of you if you really think you'd respond exactly the same way. Also very, very unlikely to be true. Sorry.

By the by? I'm angry today. You shouldn't take things personally. In fact, if you're feeling vulnerable you should just ignore me completely until I calm down. Because I'm not really sure exactly what I'm mad about. Which, by default, becomes being mad at everything.

Know something that really pisses me off? That gender-training I was talking about before. Jesus Fitzgerald Christ. Are we fucking automatons?

Seriously, I think part of my affinity for lesbians has been the relative gender-blurring that can often happen amongst them. It isn't that these women behave like men. It's more that they don't behave like stereotypical women.

And no, my venom here is not reserved for the "fairer sex". Christ, why is it that I can think of no better outlet for my anger than hitting/breaking things? What the fuck will that solve?

Why is it that that's really the only real way men ever think of resolving shit? "He's pissed me off. I'll kick his ass."

Yes, it'll probably make us feel better. Well, maybe. But even so, it's not like it solves anything.

Gah. At the moment, I even hate people who are atypical, gender-wise. If for no other reason, how the fuck did you get to be that way?

Have I a right to be angry? I am I justified?

Rights and justice have nothing to do with it, kids.

In fact, I kinda doubt rights and justice have anything to do with anything.

Fine. I now resolve to write no more entries until I'm in a more rational state. Well, that or drunk. Either way.

Thoughts?

latest:
Passing Strange, Indeed
- 2008-12-16@12:44 p.m.
Kim
- 2008-05-28@10:47 p.m.
What's New
- 2008-05-20@11:16 p.m.
Hey, Kim
- 2008-01-18@9:18 a.m.
Christmas Was Weird
- 2008-01-03@8:11 p.m.

<< previous | next >>

...passing strange .