"normal" was a few blocks back...

.
. . The New OUCHness .
.

new
archives
profile
email
notes
100 things
diaryland

in which we question the quality of our medical care
2003-09-26 @ 5:10 p.m.


No, I am not a doctor.

But I do know what hurts. And this new boot/brace thing sadly does not seem an improvement over the splint I had before, which was molded around my leg in exacting shape and lent the kindness of a nice firm support when my ankle would like to flop around like a poorly thought-out muppet.

This new thing, while looking much more impressive (and undoubtedly being much more expensive) does not happen to offer comparable support. In fact, the rubber treads on the bottom of this boot would suggest it's meant to be given to someone who could walk.

I was told not to put any weight on my ankle. Guess what? The fucking boot weighs about 30lbs. Christ. And the fucker had the nerve to say, "Well, it's a small break, and it shouldn't need surgery so long as it doesn't move." Well, thanks for giving me a "cast" that can't possibly fit perfectly. Fucker.

I can still move my foot inside this thing. What's more, I can feel my foot move when I move the boot -- like I said, the fucker's heavy. So am I perhaps being a bit paranoid, in thinking maybe this orthopedic surgeon might be a little bit slice-happy?

"Hey, this guy doesn't need surgery. We can fix that. Give him the wrong support for his injury."

Fucking prick.

I'm going to take a nap now.

(Oh wait -- as I'm still wincing in the office, I have to ask about pain medication -- he writes something out in like two seconds, and goes, "Only take it when you need to." No, I thought I'd take them all at once and have myself one fantastic fucking evening. Asshole.)

Thoughts?

latest:
Passing Strange, Indeed
- 2008-12-16@12:44 p.m.
Kim
- 2008-05-28@10:47 p.m.
What's New
- 2008-05-20@11:16 p.m.
Hey, Kim
- 2008-01-18@9:18 a.m.
Christmas Was Weird
- 2008-01-03@8:11 p.m.

<< previous | next >>

...passing strange .