"normal" was a few blocks back...

.
. . Almost Online .
.

new
archives
profile
email
notes
100 things
diaryland

in which we recall that dial-up really bites
2004-07-02 @ 10:50 p.m.


Oy gevalt.

Finally I have a home phone connection. Granted, it's full of static and I can barely hear the other person speaking, but we have to start somewhere, right?

And in fact, I am even posting this from home, having decided in my uber-poor state to take advantage of the ubiquitous free aol offer that we are endlessly bombarded by. Now, having had aol before when I first bought my computer (a whole year free, part of the deal) I can really testify that aol does in fact suck. It's not a conjecture on my part, I've done taste tests.

In addition, I'd had dsl for the last several years, so going back to dial-up has thus far had me wanting to smash in my computer. Of course, not wanting to break my hand again will surely keep me from doing that.

But, I think that I recall having changed all sorts of things on my computer way back in order to get my dsl to work, so perhaps that's part of why dial-up aol seems so fantastically sucky. I mean, this is actually the first time I've been online for any length of time without getting knocked off.

I'd ramble on more, but I've discovered already that the chances that this post will actually make it to my diary are fairly slim. So I'll save my cyber-breath.

Ah, how I look forward to not being horribly destitute in the future...

Thoughts?

latest:
Passing Strange, Indeed
- 2008-12-16@12:44 p.m.
Kim
- 2008-05-28@10:47 p.m.
What's New
- 2008-05-20@11:16 p.m.
Hey, Kim
- 2008-01-18@9:18 a.m.
Christmas Was Weird
- 2008-01-03@8:11 p.m.

<< previous | next >>

...passing strange .