"normal" was a few blocks back...

.
. . I Am So Going To Blow This .
.

new
archives
profile
email
notes
100 things
diaryland

in which we acknowledge our deficiencies
2004-10-30 @ 5:45 a.m.


Actually, in retrospect, I believe I actually had already told CG she shouldn't come out to my job to dance anymore. Well, regardless we'd both forgotten that up till tonight, apparently.

So within the first hour of my shift, she's just gotten there, and this girl on the dance floor ends up grabbing me twice as I'm going by. The first time she hugged me and kissed me, I don't actually know if CG caught that. But I definitely know she caught the second time the girl grabbed me, because I heard about it for the rest of the night. Basically, this girl was like grinding on me and such -- you know, she took hold of my hands, and so could guide them to where ever on her anatomy she apparently thought was a good idea.

In my defense? Not treating a flirty girl who seems fond of you like she has the plague is really kind of part of my job. I actually did get away as quickly as I could, seeing as I knew CG was right there. But, she goes on to dance with some dude for most of the night, and y'know -- there's the whole, "Well, you can't say anything, what about that girl" schtick, at the same time that she's asking to make sure I'm not bothered.

Towards the end ... basically we get into this thing where she says something about us not actually being official, so I'm like -- well, how do we make it official?

Really, I think the point of all this is that obviously neither of us is gonna be too thrilled to see someone all over the other one. Especially not when there's some obvious chance that such attention may not be completely unwelcomed. So as I say: Basically, she needs to not come to my job. I told her she has nothing to worry about, and she told me the same. But girls are going to flirt with the security guys where I work, and if you're a cute girl dancing guys are going to flirt with you. Nothing to be done for it, and so long as we don't have to watch each other it should be no big deal.

But, it was kind of a big deal tonight, as we spent almost four hours on the phone talking about "relationship" stuff after I got off work. (She refused to invite me over because she'd had several glasses of wine -- claimed she didn't trust that she could stick with her own resolve not to just leap on top of me. As far as it goes, I've told her she's on her own as far as being the guardian of all that -- I could claim otherwise, but frankly it would be a lie.) So we spent all this time confessing to all these stupid thoughts and feelings that we've had for each other. And this is where, in the end, I've very little doubt that I'm going to blow this one.

One rather odd truism that I've found in my life: There's no more guaranteed way to make sure you don't end up with a particular girl, besides making clear your hopes that you should. In our stereotype, women are the ones who want the life-long committed relationship, and guys are supposed to be completely adverse to that. But really, I've never seen anything to chase women away more surely than a guy who's looking to commit.

As far as myself? Eh, not really even looking to commit. Really, it seems like I've my entire universe to sort out besides, so I don't even see how I could make any kind of relationship a priority. But, tonight I've made it abundantly clear in many ways to CG exactly how crazy I am about her. And though she did likewise -- yeah, life experience says this is about where things should really take a turn for the worse.

By the way, the angry interaction earlier this week? Somehow all my fault. Eh, if'n you say so. Hardly surprising if I become confusing, once I'm confused, hm?

Thoughts?

latest:
Passing Strange, Indeed
- 2008-12-16@12:44 p.m.
Kim
- 2008-05-28@10:47 p.m.
What's New
- 2008-05-20@11:16 p.m.
Hey, Kim
- 2008-01-18@9:18 a.m.
Christmas Was Weird
- 2008-01-03@8:11 p.m.

<< previous | next >>

...passing strange .