"normal" was a few blocks back...

.
. . Fast Paced/Challenging .
.

new
archives
profile
email
notes
100 things
diaryland

in which we would rather take it easy
2005-01-17 @ 11:43 a.m.


So, with CG out of town as of Thursday, school already having started, and my own self having finally gotten back to the gym, I awoke bright and early this morning (tho we may still consider that a day late) to do what any good unemployed individual should each day: Scan through the paper for possible new employment.

Kind of slim pickings, as far as anything I would A) Have much chance of getting, and B) Be actually willing to do. I know, beggars can't really be choosers, and I'm about as beggar-ish as you're likely to get at this point, but the problem is that I can't really see myself even convincingly getting through an interview for a job I don't actually want. You know, rolling your eyes at the hiring manager's description of your responsibilities probably doesn't help your chances of employment.

Kind of irritating, isn't it, how many of these things ask if you're looking for a "fast paced, challenging environment"? I mean really, how many people are honestly looking for that?

Or maybe it's just how I read it. "Fast paced" translates to me as "a madhouse" and "challenging" translates to "run while you still can." Oh, I've worked in places where you'll be lucky to get a 5-minute bit of peace out of an 8 hour shift, where the pace is such that even the management realizes they are throwing so much at you that you couldn't possibly catch it all. I've worked in jobs that stretch you mentally, physically, and emotionally, where each day you stumble home with barely enough energy to eat something before collapsing in your bed.

Yes, I have seen fast-paced and challenging, and believe it or not even managed to enjoy some employment that has fallen under that description. But between heavy upper-division classes and the ongoing drama of CG, I doubt that I'm up for anything quite that draining at this stage in my life.

Besides, I notice that most places that use those words are fairly scant on other details about the positions. Not a good sign, kids.

Anyway, meet the new week, same as the old week...

Thoughts?

latest:
Passing Strange, Indeed
- 2008-12-16@12:44 p.m.
Kim
- 2008-05-28@10:47 p.m.
What's New
- 2008-05-20@11:16 p.m.
Hey, Kim
- 2008-01-18@9:18 a.m.
Christmas Was Weird
- 2008-01-03@8:11 p.m.

<< previous | next >>

...passing strange .