"normal" was a few blocks back...

.
. . Never Gonna Get It .
.

new
archives
profile
email
notes
100 things
diaryland

in which we withhold our lovin
2004-02-13 @ 9:59 a.m.


Men. Can't live with 'em, can't house train 'em, am I right ladies? Just the other night I was out doing my non-drinking schtick yet again, and a person who dates both offered what really might be the best simple description of the problem with men (and women) that I've ever heard: When it comes to relationships, men are stupid. But women are crazy.

I like it. Overall it really does seem to sum up the gist of my romantic history in a neat, if pathetic and sad, little package. Certainly not to say, however, that there's no such thing as a Stupid Girl -- nor, of course, that the Y chromosone folks can't be a couple cans short of a six pack -- yours truly being a prime example, of course. Nah, we're not talking absolutes, here. Just general trends. And it does seem to me that we can take a relatively normal, reasonably sane young lady, add a little fascination, infatuation, lust, what have you ... add in the enjoyment of truly appreciating a certain person's ambience, and lots of times you can get behavior that really only makes sense to that particular lady. Or, in the least, behavior that will rarely seem intuitively logical to the object of her desires.

Alternately, while this or that young lad might normally seem a rational and resourceful enough an individual, turn his head a bit with the curve of a particular lip, or hip -- satisfy his curiosity or desire in the same instant as creating it, and rather than a more efficient thinking machine you'll functionally reduce him to the rough equivilant of that evolutionary missing link that's somewhere between human and ape. Still mostly aware of what's going on around him. Just pretty much incapable of comprehending anything that isn't set in front of him -- abstracts just kinda get hard.

So what am I on about, then? Meh. Fucked if I know. Y'all should know better than to expect linear thinking out of me, at this point. Oh, thinking back to how I've titled the page, I was somehow supposed to take that beginning above and transition to this: A Wise Woman recently said to me, amidst a very complex conversation, a pretty simple truism which has rather stuck in my head -- basically, that "men give away sex like candy."

Which, more or less, I believe speaks to the general societal standard wherein males more easily and readily engage in sex with different partners -- I had a social psychology class that mentioned a particular study, for example, that was conducted on a university campus. Essentially, they picked two typically attractive people, one male and one female. You know, like local-model pretty -- not necessarily breath-taking or anything, but pretty easy on the eyes. Actors, actually, now that I think on it. And basically, they taught them both to recite a script, during which they were to smile politely and otherwise not show any physical signs of flirtation, and just walk up to random people and ask them to go home and have sex with them.

-- Well, I just tried to find the actual numbers for this, but couldn't. The results as best I can recall them were something like -- 10-15% of the women said yes, versus maybe 60-70% of the men. Which really is rather a big difference. It would definitely seem your random male gives it up much easier than your random female. And really, in the majority of my own personal experiences along these lines, I'd have to say it seems pretty true for even myself. I have actually known a few girls who were way ahead of me in the process of how quick we go from "don't know" to "maybe" to "yes". Sometimes, it's really like, "don't know ... yes" and sometimes even more like just "yes." But statistically speaking, about anything is likely to happen if you throw large enough probabilities at it.

As normal of course, I digress -- and I doubt I was even making sense in that last part there. But stick with me, dear reader -- it'll all come together in the end, promise.

So -- I believe I mentioned, I was out with some friends, who as it happened were drinking free because it was one of those ladies-drink-free nights ... and so fittingly and quite logically for such a locale, at least about half of the crowd are obviously lesbians. I'm with one "obvious" lesbian, and one bi girl who mostly leans, apparently, towards women. And the men being stupid/women crazy thing comes up...

You know, d'ya think you guys can just figure out where I was going to go from there? If you can't, point it out, and I'll wrap this up later. Right this moment tho? Man, I'm starving. Gonna go get some food before I collapse.

Thoughts?

latest:
Passing Strange, Indeed
- 2008-12-16@12:44 p.m.
Kim
- 2008-05-28@10:47 p.m.
What's New
- 2008-05-20@11:16 p.m.
Hey, Kim
- 2008-01-18@9:18 a.m.
Christmas Was Weird
- 2008-01-03@8:11 p.m.

<< previous | next >>

...passing strange .