"normal" was a few blocks back...

.
. . Once A Day Is Too Much? .
.

new
archives
profile
email
notes
100 things
diaryland

in which we honestly wonder
2004-01-02 @ 12:23 p.m.


Hm. I was just recalling something I'd wanted to write about before. A bit ago, I was hanging out with two friends, a couple who live together, and they were complaining about their upstairs neighbors. The basic complaint is that these people either have no jobs or work at night, because they're going at it ever night around 5 or 6 am, which is around when my friends get up. They even joked that maybe the upstairs couple has it timed, so they'll be done when the alarm clock goes off.

But what really got my attention -- at some point, the female half of this couple is like, "I mean literally, they have sex every day."

The emphasis there is hers, not mine. So I had to question this. "... um ... and?..."

At this point she asks what's the longest relationship I've been in, more specifically about relationships where I lived with someone. I told her my longest was about a year -- (yeah, you might say that's peculiar, considering my age. I dunno, say I'm picky. Or say I'm hard to get along with. Whatever.) -- which just happens to be a bit longer than this particular couple has been together.

So she asked, "Did you guys really do it every day??"

Now, here's the part that's strange to me: Granted, I was aware that the girl I was with at the time apparently had a much higher sex drive than most women... or at least, most women her age. So I didn't think this was typical, but I told the truth:

"... At least once a day. Usually, two or three times a day. Sometimes it might be more, but then occasionally we'd start to get sore, and I'd have to beg a bit that we take it easy for a day or two."

(Btw, this girl's response if I complained that I was becoming painfully raw? "So what, I'm sore too. Come on..." As I said, she was kinda unusual.)

But here's the thing -- I would not argue that maybe we were a little -- exuberant? -- in that relationship. But nonetheless, I never actually thought that once a day seemed excessive at all.

My friends argued that it was.

"I just don't even have that much energy every day," she said.

Hm. Y'know, I may not have the energy to study, or do my bills, or clean ... I may not even have the energy to think straight. But if you twist my arm ... yeah, I'd probably find the energy for that. But really -- I don't really think I'd be too tired for it most days, anyway.

After all, not every roll in the sack has to be a marathon ... after all, you know neither of you is going anywhere, and there'll be plenty of opportunities in every day to spend some "quality time" together.

So what I'm wondering -- I mean, the male side of that relationship was right along with her, once a day seemed just too much -- so I'm wondering, am I strange on this one, or are they?

A'right, so I know I'm strange ... but what I'm asking: If you were in a long term relationship, do you think you'd find hopping in the sack (or on the counter, the couch, the floor, whatever) once a day too much of a good thing?

Because maybe it really just is me -- but the fact of the matter is, anyone I was attracted enough to really lust after the day I met them... in my experience, I'll still lust after them as much every subsequent day, no matter how many times we've been together. In fact, knowing one another, knowing that you're compatible and that you can really please each other -- hell, I'd say that motivates me more. That's kinda where quickies come in, if you ask me -- if you've been together awhile, you should know how to get one another off quickly.

But then, maybe my view on this really is atypical. After all, I do really only have the one relationship that kept up that pace for that long. So ... ya think once a day is normally going to be a bit much for your average girl? How about your average guy?

Personally, though I didn't want to suggest it, I was just thinking these guys need to add some lust to their relationship.

That could be just me, of course.

Thoughts?

latest:
Passing Strange, Indeed
- 2008-12-16@12:44 p.m.
Kim
- 2008-05-28@10:47 p.m.
What's New
- 2008-05-20@11:16 p.m.
Hey, Kim
- 2008-01-18@9:18 a.m.
Christmas Was Weird
- 2008-01-03@8:11 p.m.

<< previous | next >>

...passing strange .