"normal" was a few blocks back...

.
. . Well, Dang It. Apparently I'm Just Stoic .
.

new
archives
profile
email
notes
100 things
diaryland

in which we prefer our own descriptive terms
2004-01-04 @ 5:29 a.m.


Y'know, I don't think I'd mentioned it here, and even if I did I'll mention it again -- though I'm walking on both legs unassisted again, it still hurts easily enough. Such as if I overdo it, either with too much walking or too much weight. My best friend slipped on ice right next to me the other day, and while one reflex reached for him another remembered the pain that had ensued from doing that with someone else the day before -- as it happened, both fell on my left side -- so unfortunately, my best friend just got to hit the pavement. He was actually quite understanding.

But it's late, and for that reason I'm rambling. It's been a long and complex day, kids ... and because it has, I won't bother to try and recap it all. It was an ususual Saturday night -- okay, admittedly, punctuacted with some PS2 playing (someone gave me a new game, what could I do?) -- but overall, the point would be that it was good.

Besides the usual gang of rabble rousers I normally call friends and acquaintances, I also met two new people towards the more wee hours of the night. They were cool, so it was all good, but at the end of the night one of them described me as "stoic." I know, stoic isn't exactly an insult. But then, it's not really a complement either.

I mean, could you in any sense consider "stoic" as somehow including "enticing", or anything even approaching attractive, now that I think on it?

Meh, if I'm not bothered that someone who's just met me is calling me a player, I'm bothered that they're calling me stoic. Ya just can't please some people.

Someone else I met said I seem particular self-conscious or overconcerned with my looks, or something to that effect -- in response to which I can only say, yeah, pretty much.

Yow. After that last sentence, I'd started in on this long diatribe that would have kept me up for quite a while if I had any intention of fully explaining it. And frankly, screw that noise.

It's always cool to meet new people. We can only hope the new people feel the same way about us.

Peace now, kids.

Thoughts?

latest:
Passing Strange, Indeed
- 2008-12-16@12:44 p.m.
Kim
- 2008-05-28@10:47 p.m.
What's New
- 2008-05-20@11:16 p.m.
Hey, Kim
- 2008-01-18@9:18 a.m.
Christmas Was Weird
- 2008-01-03@8:11 p.m.

<< previous | next >>

...passing strange .