"normal" was a few blocks back...

.
. . Strangely Enough .
.

new
archives
profile
email
notes
100 things
diaryland

in which curiosity rewards the cat
2004-01-16 @ 3:44 a.m.


Two entries ago, when I woke up sayin "Woo!", I referenced a frozen beef stew that I'd let bake for about 4 1/2 hours longer than recommended...

I'm actually guessing now I wasn't drunk when writing that entry, but maybe I should have been, as it would be a good excuse for this: Charred and blackened as the stew was, I still tried a bit of it.

And guess what? It tasted better than it normally does! Really, I'm not just saying that -- I was amazed, too.

Problem is, they kind of overspice the stew ... apparently the deep cajun blackening technique kicked that crap right out. Not necessarily proud about it, but I ate about 80% of the stew that was left, tho there was really no liquid-stew aspect left to it -- pretty much, I only did not eat the burnt stuff that was stuck to the container.

And ya know, describing that it sounds pretty gross -- but really, that's why I bother to write this entry. It really was frickin good.

Sometimes, you just don't know until you try.

Thoughts?

latest:
Passing Strange, Indeed
- 2008-12-16@12:44 p.m.
Kim
- 2008-05-28@10:47 p.m.
What's New
- 2008-05-20@11:16 p.m.
Hey, Kim
- 2008-01-18@9:18 a.m.
Christmas Was Weird
- 2008-01-03@8:11 p.m.

<< previous | next >>

...passing strange .