"normal" was a few blocks back...

.
. . I've Grown Tubby! .
.

new
archives
profile
email
notes
100 things
diaryland

in which we knew something seemed odd
2004-07-27 @ 2:24 a.m.


Okay, so ... I dunno, this probably doesn't have any actual correlation to going off the meds once I realized they were what was making me a very sweaty individual. Well, turns out I was right about that at least, I don't perspire at the slightest effort or temperature change anymore. And, if I do start to sweat a bit but then stop whatever was causing it ... I actually stop sweating again! Yes, great strides have been made.

And yet, we have complications, too. Y'know, honestly I think I'd kinda been poking around at my midsection for at least a month or so, bemused at the peculiar roundness that seemed to accompany it. Well, really it just hit me this past weekend, and I must say I'm not pleased with this turn of events at all.

Apparently between the last time I stepped on a scale and today, I've put on 20 pounds. And as far as I can tell, it's all accumulated around my belly. The rest of me is pretty much the same, I even still have decent muscle tone. But for the first time in my life, I've a sizeable mass of fat that I can recognize and ... well, honestly be kinda awed at. I mean, honestly it totally caught me off guard.

I suppose that's one reason not to where clothes that are all way too big for you -- maybe if they fit in the first place you'd notice when they stopped. Ah, how I rue my foolish fashion ways.

And it sucks, because I'm without a gym membership for the first time in years as of earlier this month. Granted, I've discovered a probable path to getting a new membership, but in the meantime it sucks, because one thing I know is that you don't change the shape of your body overnight. Twenty extra pounds packed around my abs. Geez, that's gonna be months at least.

Well, I suppose I could look on the bright side. I really had already kinda been slacking in the gym way back when I broke my ankle ... and then, never really got back into it between that and breaking my hand. Thus the cancellation. But, tho I'm sure I could just by some even larger shirts and go on with my life, no -- instead, having grown a nice and rotound little belly will inevitably motivate me once again to sticking to a regular workout regimen. Y'see, I find it always helps to have goals, which is why I tend to see-saw (though never quite as far in this direction ususally) when it comes to working out.

When you're in good shape, it's kind of hard to really push yourself, because ... well, I guess I just never found being in excellent or superb shape all that motivating. OTOH, when I actually am kinda flabby, I usually can motivate myself to work harder towards lean and mean.

But yeah, the theories are all for the future. For the moment, my midsection actually does kinda bring to mind the pillsbury dough boy. Well. At least I don't have to wear the little hat, I suppose.

Thoughts?

latest:
Passing Strange, Indeed
- 2008-12-16@12:44 p.m.
Kim
- 2008-05-28@10:47 p.m.
What's New
- 2008-05-20@11:16 p.m.
Hey, Kim
- 2008-01-18@9:18 a.m.
Christmas Was Weird
- 2008-01-03@8:11 p.m.

<< previous | next >>

...passing strange .