"normal" was a few blocks back...

.
. . My friends are not my friends .
.

new
archives
profile
email
notes
100 things
diaryland

in which we lament this sad but true state of affairs
2003-08-31 @ 8:26 a.m.


As I said in the previous entry, I have indeed had what may easily be considered more than my share of booze and that stuff they sometimes call wacky tabacky. (Note: I actually never called it that. In fact, I refused to either smoke with them, or even acknowledge that I knew what they were talking about, if I ever chanced upon someone who did choose to call it such. But I digress.) As it happens, all those wild years o mine are now in the past ... not very far in the past actually, but in the past nonetheless. Okay, well at least for the moment.

You see, without delving too deeply into my sordid past at this godawful early hour of the morning (you know something's really not kosher when I'm up this early on a Sunday), I will say that last year was really not a good year for me, and a good part of why it was not is that I was not working, and so had way too much time on my hands to do nothing more than hang out and party with my friends. Why is this a bad thing? Well, refer back to the title of this entry.

Yes, I am a man who can enjoy wretched excess now and then, the only problem is that last year it became more than a now and then thing ... and since there was a buttload of other depressing events that got dumped on me during this time I became ... well, pretty depressed, natch.

So, like any good modern American, I ran as quickly as I could to therapy, which was quickly helped along by anti-depressants. And as any of you who may have been prescribed anti-depressants before would know (what? depressed people to be found amongst those who journal online? Insanity...) adding other non-prescribed drugs to your meds is considered a big no-no.

So, I've been off the ganja for months now, and after haggling quite awhile with my therapist over being allowed to just drink socially, I've now taken my shot at being completely clean and sober for about a month now.

What does all this have to do with my friends? Well. As I'm sure my therapist rather had some suspicion, it turns out that without being drunk or high, I CAN'T STAND THOSE PEOPLE. Huh. Who'da thunk it?

Thoughts?

latest:
Passing Strange, Indeed
- 2008-12-16@12:44 p.m.
Kim
- 2008-05-28@10:47 p.m.
What's New
- 2008-05-20@11:16 p.m.
Hey, Kim
- 2008-01-18@9:18 a.m.
Christmas Was Weird
- 2008-01-03@8:11 p.m.

<< previous | next >>

...passing strange .