"normal" was a few blocks back...

.
. . Fuck It, Part I .
.

new
archives
profile
email
notes
100 things
diaryland

in which we begin what is certain to become tradition
2003-09-17 @ 6:20 p.m.


Well. In contrast to our drunken, slacking beginnings last week, this last week or so has been all bustle and business, spurred on by none other than our new lead head guy. (Rather than spelling that out again, his name is now Olie. Why the fuck not.)

So new head guy, when not slacking off early to go drink shots of whiskey and ogle naked ladies, turns out to be a whirlwind of productivity. The guy never stops moving, and he always moves fast. This is rather a new influence in our small workgroup, and I can't say I've cared for its side-effects. The two other guys I work with, being as this is for the both of them a life-long career, and being as we are all "contract workers" (temps) except Olie, the idea seems to be to ingratiate themselves upon him as much as possible, because of course he is the Spy Eye from the main building, sent down to keep our little sattelite humming along.

They want permanent jobs with the company, they are afraid that those will be limited. Which is kinda dumb, since our company honestly is expanding. I haven't been there that long, but everything I see suggests a company that will be needing people, and lots of them, and soon. Anyway, an unfortunate tactic that they both have employed in hopes of securing their places is to try and make me look bad by comparison.

Now here's a bit about me that you may find hard to completely believe, if you don't know me well: I REALLY, really, really, really could give a flying fuck about this sort of thing normally. I mean, it's actually something about myself that I at times lament: I don't compete. I mean, I'm ambitious because I set a high standard for myself -- but I just can't be motivated by a need to appear better than someone. It always seems to me, if it means so goddam much to them, let them have it. Unless of course achieving this particular goal is something I've set for myself, in which case the other person is just SOL.

Surely, making a good impression at this new job should be amongst my goals? Well, sure. How are they impeding this? THESE TWO SCHMUCKS ARE SUPPOSED TO BE TRAINING ME.

So essentially, I can do a lot of things, but I have no concept of sequence ... and the both of them have done all they can to do whatever tasks need to be done, and pretty much leave me without anything at all to do. Honestly, when you have to beg for work several times a day, there's a problem.

Wouldn't be near as irritating if I didn't have so much other crap to get done. Lots of school stuff, financial stuff, personal stuff.

So, in spirit with the title of this entry (an entry I am if anything too fond of, I should say) I decided, Fuck It.

Took the day off for work tomorrow. Not a true day off, because I have many tasks to accomplish in that time. But still, I won't be stuck at work. The days have been beautiful out lately, and I have a feeling that might change sometime all too soon.

Plus, I should have been at class 40 minutes ago, and I am here writing this. I've been considering skipping this class, but I probably will schlep over there to catch the second half (three plus hours long, this class).

BUT, class or no class, you know what I'm gonna go do after that? I'm gonna answer as many of the calls to go out for a drink that I've been ignoring as I can. (Isn't that a fantastic sentence?) In other words, tonight I will get shitfaced. And, if there is a God in Heaven, tonight I will also get laid.

Thus, a light Thursday later, I should be all smiles and grooveness for the final day of my work week.

Hope you're having as much fun...

Thoughts?

latest:
Passing Strange, Indeed
- 2008-12-16@12:44 p.m.
Kim
- 2008-05-28@10:47 p.m.
What's New
- 2008-05-20@11:16 p.m.
Hey, Kim
- 2008-01-18@9:18 a.m.
Christmas Was Weird
- 2008-01-03@8:11 p.m.

<< previous | next >>

...passing strange .