"normal" was a few blocks back...

.
. . Too Much Joy .
.

new
archives
profile
email
notes
100 things
diaryland

in which we are just filled to bursting
2004-04-22 @ 3:28 p.m.


What's happenin, my peeps? I know I'm not exactly the most prolific of diarists these days, but honestly that's because most of the more interesting stuff that I do is stuff I shouldn't do. So when I'm actually being "good", I don't have much to talk about.

Something I've discovered? 19 out of 20 strange women in a bar will be essentially unwilling to offer any real dating advice to a total stranger. Really, I can't wait till the day I'm paid to conduct such revealing studies.

In slightly other news, I've realized that sobriety unfortunately is not something we must decide on once. In fact, if you blossom into adulthood being a pretty hard partier, one of those who can quite regularly drink most everyone else under the table? Well, seems like you'll typically be deciding to be sober at least once a day. And God help you if you mix a bit of a bummer day with nothing to do the next day...

Meh, it's not so much a big deal or anything. Excepting, of course, that somehow the group of people I ended up hanging with the one night I was drunk turned out to be from the staff of the new place that opened only a week after we did, and true to the scene up in those parts half those guys knew half the guys I work with. In fact, two of them apparently will be working with me soon? Why is this bad? Well, I'm not quite sure, but I think I may have argued that the guy at work I tend to dislike is in fact a weasal and an asshole -- um, with someone who really, really likes him.

See, only sober me avoids drama. Drunk me tends to think this shit is hilarious. But then, the drunk self would rarely be the one dealing with consequences, right?

Am I really like two different people, drunk vs. sober? Unfortunately I can't answer that, as I'm not sure what I'm like when I'm drunk. Far more sociable, clearly. Actually, have you seen Dave Chapelle's skit about Charlie Murphy and Rick James? I think drunken me might really be quite a bit like the caricature of Rick James.

"I'm one of the baddest, best looking muthafuckers ever! It's a celebration, bitches! Enjoy yo'self!"

Quite charming, yes.

Take care, young'ens.

Thoughts?

latest:
Passing Strange, Indeed
- 2008-12-16@12:44 p.m.
Kim
- 2008-05-28@10:47 p.m.
What's New
- 2008-05-20@11:16 p.m.
Hey, Kim
- 2008-01-18@9:18 a.m.
Christmas Was Weird
- 2008-01-03@8:11 p.m.

<< previous | next >>

...passing strange .