"normal" was a few blocks back...

.
. . Association-Polarization Experiment .
.

new
archives
profile
email
notes
100 things
diaryland

in which we test upon ourselves
2004-03-24 @ 12:51 a.m.


Okay, closing yourself off in your room in a cave-like setting can start to make one just a little weird. I've even restored the light-blockers on my windows so that I can sleep regardless of the hour, because I now have a night job and only one night class.

So, sequestered away, I've cleaned and done errands and played video games (unavoidable) and not smoked (woo hoo for sugar free cinnamon gum) and uh ... yeah, done a lot of stuff. Shut off from the world.

So, an idea occurred to me. Dig this: I'm turning my room into a Cognitive Dissonace Chamber.

What the bleeding hell am I yammering about, you wonder almost aloud? Well, I'll tell you.

Basically, take your essential, reflexive, gut responses/perceptions of the world around you -- you know, black/white, up/down, what have you. Cold/hot, that sort of thing. Well, a basic concept of advertising is sheer repetition: Just make this message/product so ingrained, so automatic, that it happens without you thinking. E.g., "Arby's Roast Beef is" what, kids?

Well, you're just weird if you can't finish that. Um, weird, or not American. For those outside of the Arby's zone, feel free to ask.

Anyhow. What I decided to do -- suppose you took as many of your basic, essential cognitive responses -- hot/cold, dark/light, and so on -- as possible, and attempted to get your subconscious to reverse the polarity?

This is to say, try and train your mind to respond to dark as if it is light, cold as if it is hot, and on and on...

So my question is, what effect, if any, might such a thing have on a person? Assuming, of course, that I could affect this change.

Your question, of course, may be whether it's such a good idea for me to spend so much time alone.

'course, I already know the answer to that one...

Thoughts?

latest:
Passing Strange, Indeed
- 2008-12-16@12:44 p.m.
Kim
- 2008-05-28@10:47 p.m.
What's New
- 2008-05-20@11:16 p.m.
Hey, Kim
- 2008-01-18@9:18 a.m.
Christmas Was Weird
- 2008-01-03@8:11 p.m.

<< previous | next >>

...passing strange .