"normal" was a few blocks back...

.
. . With Apologies To Tool .
.

new
archives
profile
email
notes
100 things
diaryland

in which we wonder why can't we just be sober
2004-02-09 @ 2:53 p.m.


Okay ... so, by no stretch of the imagination can could I pretend that I was actually productive this weekend at all. I really did decide to skip the 80's party Saturday -- pretty much, I just hang out at home and loafed around. I'm really remarkably good at that. I mean, I've known lots and lots of people who get bored by just hanging out with themselves for a prolonged period of time ... me, it's really quite remarkable that I ever get out at all, considering the multitude of enjoyable ways that I can find to slack off all by my lonesome.

So ... right, I would have been doing schoolwork that day, but the instructor would could have emailed me the assignment that's due tonight did not. Well fine, then. I've got a PS2, who needs homework?

But really, lounging around at home on Sat. isn't even the point here. Sunday, however -- well, okay, that one wasn't productive, either, but it is something I can be kind of proud of in a sense, regardless. Y'see, I was woken up early afternoon (hey, I'd only went to sleep at about 4 am ... give a guy a break) by, surprise of surprises, Lesbian Best Friend and un-friend C., who are as thick as theives these days.

And just a quick aside about C. -- at some point in hanging out, she does something vaguely (or acutely, I don't quite recall) frustrating, and then goes, "Oh, you love me." To which I reply, resigned: "Yeah... I guess someone has to." And she laughs, and is like, "I know. It is a really tough job, to actually love me. But somebody has to, right?"

So that's pretty much that about C., who I think I will from now on refer to as an un-friend ... rather like the undead are neither exactly dead nor alive ... she's just ... I don't know, whatever she is. An absolute pain in the ass, most of the time, really. But also someone I haven't been able to extricate myself from for about 3 years now, so what ya gonna do?

So anyhow, she and LBF call in the early afternoon (as they had late Saturday) to say that they were heading to a local bar, and I should join them. Sure, I says. And fall almost immdediately back asleep. It wasn't anything personal -- I just don't wake up very easily. So they call back maybe an hour later as they're heading to a different neighborhood bar. This time I do get up, and when I finally arrive (after shower and all), they were just talking about/making fun of me -- my attitude towards going out apparently being: "Yeah ... if your lucky, maybe I'll show up in an hour or two..."

So -- I guess loving me is a tough job, too? Also, they'd taken bets on how long it would take me to arrive: LBF won at estimated 2 hours, whereas C. had guessed only one. I honestly was surprised it had taken me that long. But LBF does know me pretty well.

So the point is, from early in the afternoon till just after midnight, I was hanging out with these two in a bar. I mean, it was actually three bars by the time we were done, and at the second one I ended up hanging out with one of my housemates and her brother for a bit while those two skipped ahead to bar #3 ... but really, all of that is details. The cool part is that, while watching bottles and pitchers and mixed drink after mixed drink disappear ... what did I have? Coke. Water. A couple of Red Bulls.

I had a close call at bar #2 -- as I'd explained to LBF at some point, the hardest thing about not drinking is just the reflexiveness/habit of drinking -- or, more specifically, of simply ordering. Waitress comes by: "Can I get you guys anything."

"Vodka cranberry."

"Rolling Rock."

"..."

Just feels very unnatural, is all I'm saying. So at some point at bar #2, having spent about 2 hours facing a particular poster advertising it, when the waitress came I order one of their specials, a Red Bull/Jagermeister. (And I hate Jag ... for the uniniated, it tastes like fricking cough syrup. Except maybe nastier. I only ordered it because, as I'd finished Red Bull #2, I was thinking, " ... well, it'll be at least half Red Bull. Like a little alchohol is gonna kill me."

And it wouldn't have, but really that's not the point. The point was that word is bond, and I can't go, "Oh, I've quit drinking" and then order a mixed drink -- no matter how many times C. tries to get me to. So I actually lucked out -- when my drink arrived, it was a half-glass of Red Bull with a big fat shot of Jag sitting in the middle of it. So, simple enough, I just removed the shot and set it on the table, and proceeded to drink my Red Bull.

At some point C. notices the shot and wonders whose it is, and I just kinda shrugged. "Whoever wants it, I guess." Realistically, LBF was pretty much done at this point, tho being a trucker she was just gonna try and keep going till the night was done. C. guessed that it's Jag, and picks it up to smell it ... and, being as the glass was wet, spills it all over the table.

Well, none of us were gonna drink it anyways. So yeah, that was my one near-slip. I'm not sure what I would have done had the drink actually been mixed. One the one hand, I've decided not to drink, on the other I needed something to sip on and I wouldn't have wanted to waste the whole thing. So yeah, quite fortunate.

I spent my Sunday hanging out with friends in bars, and didn't have even a bit to drink. Maybe the first part is nothin to brag about, but I am slightly pleased at the second. Because the fact of the matter is, if I'd drank with them I'd just be hung over and much poorer today -- and I can't really see as how that would be a good thing.

Nice to get to talk to LBF, tho. She really is a sweet kid. Can't say as I'm sure her buying C. drinks and flirting with her all the time equals the two of them becoming the best of buds ... but hey, if they're happy, who am I to complain?

Well, it's off to tha showers for me, now. Hope you kids had as action-packed a weekend as us strange peeps did.

Thoughts?

latest:
Passing Strange, Indeed
- 2008-12-16@12:44 p.m.
Kim
- 2008-05-28@10:47 p.m.
What's New
- 2008-05-20@11:16 p.m.
Hey, Kim
- 2008-01-18@9:18 a.m.
Christmas Was Weird
- 2008-01-03@8:11 p.m.

<< previous | next >>

...passing strange .