"normal" was a few blocks back...

.
. . Oh, Right - Remembered A "Playa" Thing .
.

new
archives
profile
email
notes
100 things
diaryland

in which we really don't care anymore
2004-02-09 @ 3:47 p.m.


So, real quick -- some of you may recall my irritation/frustration over all the assumptions of my being a "playa" that baffled me so at some point last year. As it turns out, the one ex who likes-me-as-a-friend gave me what, realistically, I think may be the most reasonable overall explanation of that that I have had thus far ... not to say she's right, of course, but this makes enough sense to me that it works, at least in my head.

The gist is this: Sure, I may well be attractive. But moreover, in my presence, I most definitely come off as a Nice Sensitive Guy... you know, thoughtful, insightful, respectful, soft-spoken, all that lameass stuff, right? Well. While all that is going on, says she, it's also true that when/if I'm flirting with someone, it's really quite clear that I am ... like, here's this Sensitive New Age Guy who's making it perfectly clear that he thinks you're a total hottie, and would like nothing better than to get to know you as intimately as conceivably possible.

According to her, this causes not a little cognitive dissonance. At least, it did for her when we first got involved. Because Nice Sensitive Guys don't approach women. If they do, they certainly don't brazenly flirt with them. So, says she, a guy who seems really nice and sensitive yet is also trying to get you into bed must be, for lack of any other qualification, a player.

Of course, I pointed out the problem on the guy side of this: Mostly, women will not be the aggressor, so if a Sensitive Guy just sits back hoping somehow Fate will throw them together, and maybe that the woman will take an aggressive role and allow him to just stay all Sensitive -- well, sometimes that happens, but mostly I think they're just both SOL.

She agreed with my point. Generally the asshole/playerish guys will be the ones to approach, and the Nice Guys will sit back and long for you, and maybe end up your Nice Platonic Friend. Which, as I say, leaves both the Nice Girl and Nice Guy effectively screwed in the love department.

So my solution? Whoops, sorry -- don't really have one, kids. Thus, more or less, I'm out for the count on this one. Love is grand, but currently I have Other Stuff that really needs to get done. And, I guess, I'm not exactly a Nice Guy nor a Player. Guess you could say I don't really know what classification would accurately fit me.

... and that's where I get my name from. That's why they call me...

*

*

*

*

*

*

(um. y'know ... top of the page? i know, it ruins it when you have to explain...)

Thoughts?

latest:
Passing Strange, Indeed
- 2008-12-16@12:44 p.m.
Kim
- 2008-05-28@10:47 p.m.
What's New
- 2008-05-20@11:16 p.m.
Hey, Kim
- 2008-01-18@9:18 a.m.
Christmas Was Weird
- 2008-01-03@8:11 p.m.

<< previous | next >>

...passing strange .