"normal" was a few blocks back...

.
. . Being Alone .
.

new
archives
profile
email
notes
100 things
diaryland

in which the state of human existence sucks
2003-12-02 @ 2:20 p.m.


Yeah yeah, I'll be getting to my week o' painful studying any minute now. Or not. Whatever. If I fail a class, you guys can go "nyah nyah" and throw stuff at me.

But I just ... you know, really, how does it make sense that so many of us feel so alone? I mean, even when we have friends and family?

Honestly, I'm saying it doesn't make sense to me. Anywhere in the world here, you give me some person who is feeling lonely, unloved, misunderstood, unappreciated -- and I can almost fucking guarantee that within probably city blocks of that person, there's one if not several others who are in the same condition.

I mean, loneliness is such a universal human experience. But why?!?

I mean ... is it that lonely people shy away from other lonely people? Is it maybe that being with someone who's willing to be there isn't enough, we need someone who "really understands"? I don't know about that one -- I'd think, for me, as sincere desire to want to understand would be enough.

Maybe it's that lonely people only admit that they're lonely to themselves? You know, the rest of the time it's going through our lives like everything's just groovy and peachy-keen -- which maybe it would be, if we didn't feel so fucking isolated and alienated from the world?

Myself -- I know I've family who would probably literally die for me, and probably at least a couple of friends who might be willing to as well. I even have a couple of friends who I think sincerely want to understand what I mean when I'm expressing what I think or feel, and maybe even a couple who actually get it.

So honestly, I don't think I've any right to complain. A Bjork line I love:

"I've seen what I was, and I know what I'll be, and that is enough, to want more would be greed."

But is it really greed? To want someone -- to whom you don't have to try and explain? Because I think that gets to the root of it, really.

The world is a chaotic and tumultuous place. Most of us aren't sure what we're really even thinking or doing, moment to moment. And as great as it is to have someone who can maybe understand if you talk and talk about how you feel ... how much more would it be to have someone who just understands and cares ... even when you can't put it into words?

Sadly, that might well be unrealistic. I don't know, maybe it is asking too much. But you know, once again ... it's one thing to have someone tell you they love you. And I mean, that's nothing to take for granted.

But how much better just to feel it? To just know it, without having to be told? For the other person to know, without your telling them? To just realize, from being in another person's presence: There is love in the universe. And it is enough. And everything will be okay.

Hrm. Now I'm just depressing myself. It's a shitty state of affairs, kids. Truly.

But for whatever it's worth, I'd be there if I could. In all my fucked-up glory ... I'd share silence. And calm. And peace. If I could.

But in the end -- I suppose I'm no more special than anyone else. And loneliness is still a force beyond my ability to defeat.

So love those that you can. And be loved by those you can.

And if you literally have no one -- have faith. Six billion of us. With those odds, there has to be someone out there for all of us. It's all about finding some way to reach them, I guess.

Right. So nose back to the grindstone. Take care.

Thoughts?

latest:
Passing Strange, Indeed
- 2008-12-16@12:44 p.m.
Kim
- 2008-05-28@10:47 p.m.
What's New
- 2008-05-20@11:16 p.m.
Hey, Kim
- 2008-01-18@9:18 a.m.
Christmas Was Weird
- 2008-01-03@8:11 p.m.

<< previous | next >>

...passing strange .