"normal" was a few blocks back...

.
. . Bootstraps And Stuff .
.

new
archives
profile
email
notes
100 things
diaryland

in which we already know everything
2004-09-02 @ 5:42 p.m.


I have two classes, one 3 1/2 hrs and the other 4 1/2, both of which are on Thursdays. I get an hour off between them. In the least, they are both on the same campus pretty much, I can hang out in a study area, get some fast food, or visit the library and goof off on a computer. So yeah, witness which won out this visit.

Two weeks now into my return to classes -- having yet to even have done any homework, as I haven't bought my books yet -- I've realized a couple of things about my own academic journey, here. For one, I really am a bit of a know-it-all. That is to say, in entering a class at the start, I begin with an attitude that challenges the instructor to present me with anything they may be able to teach me that I may actually find useful or interesting at all. You know, just because you know stuff doesn't mean it's stuff worth knowing.

In light of this, I am markedly unenthusiastic thus far into the semester. The class I must go to now is the second-go-round at one of the classes I Withdrew from in Spring semester. Yep, the fun never ends.

Oh, it suddenly finally hit me why I can seem kind of threatening or intimidating to instructors at first, too. With as much modesty as one can have while explaining such things: I do appear physically imposing enough in the first place, and I'm actually quite attractive, and to top it off I carry myself as if I'm goddam brilliant. You know, I realized that my manner in observing and participating in group discussions was -- well, really almost kinda condescending. Like, "I'll play along, but we all know we won't discuss anything really interesting ... because you all just don't have the balls.

Yeah, I'm an academic rebel.

Thoughts?

latest:
Passing Strange, Indeed
- 2008-12-16@12:44 p.m.
Kim
- 2008-05-28@10:47 p.m.
What's New
- 2008-05-20@11:16 p.m.
Hey, Kim
- 2008-01-18@9:18 a.m.
Christmas Was Weird
- 2008-01-03@8:11 p.m.

<< previous | next >>

...passing strange .