"normal" was a few blocks back...

.
. . Cooler Than Thou Service Industry .
.

new
archives
profile
email
notes
100 things
diaryland

in which, really, it's just a job
2004-02-27 @ 4:39 p.m.


Man, am I tired. Bushed, even. I'm gonna just me down and take a nap, as I've an even longer training day tomorrow... pain in the ass, all this training is. But then again, I think once the place gets up and running, working there will probably be quite cool. I mean, basically I'm basing this on the people -- for one, there will be a ton of us, and two I've already seen that there's a good variety there. Some of them are even quite cool and likeable. All are pretty friendly, which is how I believe we all got the gig -- they wanted the most personable people possible. And I know, I probably seem quite surly and easily angered here, but that's just because this is my (pseudo)private journal, in which I vent all the thoughts that I do not normally express. In person, I'm really quite laid back and open. Or at least, I am on the outside.

What I am not, however, is a hipster. And yet, if you dress me up, I'm sure I'll look the part. Anyone who lives in the Twin Cities could testify to the uber-hip service industry types who work in the trendy clubs and restaurants around here ... yes, you may be the customer and they may be there to serve you, but don't you doubt for a second that each and all of them are a million times cooler than you. I mean, you could never get to work at such a trendy place.

Well, at least that's the attitude you get. Does every city have areas like this? Probably. Having described my new place of work to a couple of friends yesterday (one of whom is covered in tats and has like a million pieces of metal decorating his body) and their almost immediate response was, "Sounds like a yuppie place."

Well, yeah. If you want to split hairs about it. Certainly, it's not a place I imagine I'd be hanging out, if I didn't work there. But I imagine it will be one of those places to see and be seen. If you're into that kind of thing.

Hah. I just thought of someone I know who definitely is into that kind of thing ... haven't seen her in nearly a year, so of course she'll be quite shocked if she runs into me there. Ah, if there is a god in heaven, I should be allowed some circumstance to kinda screw with her -- only by doing my job, of course.

(This person happens to BF's ex-wife of ten years... we all went to high school together, she and I were once really close friends... but, you know. People change. Not always for the better, unfortunately.)

Enjoy your weekend, baby.

Thoughts?

latest:
Passing Strange, Indeed
- 2008-12-16@12:44 p.m.
Kim
- 2008-05-28@10:47 p.m.
What's New
- 2008-05-20@11:16 p.m.
Hey, Kim
- 2008-01-18@9:18 a.m.
Christmas Was Weird
- 2008-01-03@8:11 p.m.

<< previous | next >>

...passing strange .