"normal" was a few blocks back...

.
. . They Killed Colossus .
.

new
archives
profile
email
notes
100 things
diaryland

in which we mourn fictional family
2003-12-01 @ 1:44 p.m.


Woo. Another week another -- um, something, right? Gimme a break here, I'm still half asleep. And gimme a break about that wouldja -- I only went to sleep at about 7 a.m.

Man, I love Monday. For real, tho.

So this morning (afternoon) as I was groggily rubbing sleep out of my eyes, my waking thoughts were irritation at a particular comics company, and their very stupid ideas.

You see, I grew up on comic books -- I was reading them voraciously by the time I was 10, and this really didn't taper off till maybe a full ten years later. I mean, in my late teens, I was reading a lot of comics. And yes, I know that makes me a dork. But this entry isn't about that.

This entry is because they killed Colossus. You see, I haven't bought/read comics for years now, but occasionally when I'm near a rack of comics I still wander over and flip through some books I used to read. Keep in mind, I really don't think I stopped reading just because I got older, but rather because I was irritated at the directions the stories began to go.

And just recently, it turns out that they killed Colossus. If you've never read comic books, it might make sense for you to stop reading now. Because it'll just make less sense as I go on.

You see, Colossus was an X-man ... I think it's safe to assume most have heard of those guys by now. But, right up there with Storm, Nightcrawler, and Wolverine, Colussus was an integral member of the X-men. Not a founding member like Cyclops or Jean Grey -- but for my money, more a core X-man than those two, Beast, Angel, or Iceman. Why? Because all those other guys were members of other teams at some point.

But really, the point isn't to dog other characters. I'm droning on, so I'll just make my point: Years ago, they killed Colossus's younger sister, who was a really cool character, with this stupid, stupid plot device called the Legacy Virus.

Alright, I'm no genetic expert or anything ... but the Legacy Virus was lethal ... but only to mutants. Didn't affect normal humans at all. Except normal humans and mutants can still mate. Wouldn't that make us still genetically pretty much the same?

So after years and years of this dumb disease, they come up with some lame-ass cure for it, and some idiot who couldn't write his way out of a shoebox decides it would be a cool storyline if Colossus "heroically" sacrifices himself to end the virus. I'm not even going to go into the specifics of how this makes sense. Because really, it doesn't. It's just sad. Really, really sad.

So they killed off a cool character who'd been around 25+ years, for no reason more complicated than that they couldn't think of anything else.

And lest y'all start thinking I'm stranger than I am -- I know it's a fictional character, and I know that being a fictional comics character, there's really nothing to say he stays "dead" forever.

I'm just ranting about creative stupidity here. You know, back when I read comics alot, I was a Wolverine fan, despite the fact that he was just an overused cash cow. These days I'm kinda thinking maybe not.

Wolvie's on the cover of like 9-10 books monthly ... meanwhile, Colossus is killed in a filler story for god's sake. What's wrong with these people?

Eh. I'd like to say I'm done being irritated, but I'm not really. I just think I've bitched long enough. And yes, I do have actual real things in my life to be pissed off about. But this is what was on my mind when I woke up. So sue me.

Or, if you'd rather, start taking pot shots at the Marvel writers when they're leaving work. I think the sensibilities of their fans have been ignored long enough.

Okay, one more minor bitch, then I'm done. See, I have been enough of a fanboy to read comics, get into Star Trek, and Buffy, and random other sci-fi/fantasy storylines. And one thing that's always irritated me about that -- it's fine if the rest of the world considers fanboys/girls clueless geeks who are not properly grounded in the real world. Hey, if you're gonna get into endless debates about whether Batman could take Angel, or spend hours in your basement apartment playing D&D, you really can't expect much more.

But it sucks when you can tell they people whose pockets you're lining feel that same contempt. Really, I wish they could just leave the geek stuff to the geeks.

"Enterprise" is a frickin travesty, kids, and "Voyager" really just sucked ass. And she had a nice body, but Seven just irritated the piss out of me. Same for T'Pol. A sexy Vulcan, folks. What the fuck are they thinking?

Okay, enough of my fanboy rage. I'm just sayin, at least one lonely soul out there mourns for Colossus. That's all.

Go on about your reality-based day, now.

Thoughts?

latest:
Passing Strange, Indeed
- 2008-12-16@12:44 p.m.
Kim
- 2008-05-28@10:47 p.m.
What's New
- 2008-05-20@11:16 p.m.
Hey, Kim
- 2008-01-18@9:18 a.m.
Christmas Was Weird
- 2008-01-03@8:11 p.m.

<< previous | next >>

...passing strange .