"normal" was a few blocks back...

.
. . How I Broke My Ankle .
.

new
archives
profile
email
notes
100 things
diaryland

in which we blame the most likely culprit
2003-11-30 @ 11:38 p.m.


Ah, yes. Certainly, many many circumstances intersected to create the unlikely possibility of a healthy and reasonably graceful young man tumbling down a flight of stair and snapping his ankle like so much kindling. And, having nothing but time (and certainly sufficient motivation) to come to an understanding of this unlikely turn of events, it is only when I am now returning to wearing the shoes I wore then that I see what undoubtedly was the problem.

You see, when I took my fated spill, I was wearing these shoes that are just slip-ons ... they're sandal-like shoes that have these adjustable straps so that you may fit them to the size of your particular foot.

Now, if you're a reasonably bright person, you can probably see where this is going. Checking out these shoes recently, I saw that while the right shoe was nice and snugly fit, the left shoe was anything but. In fact, there was really no way to get that shoe nicely fit onto my foot, considering the way the straps were.

Lending some support to this particular theory, I recall that when I hobbled back up the stairs after my fall, I was carrying a shoe. In fact, I even recall that this shoe tumbled down the steps ahead of me. Damned stupid shooz.

So take it as a warning, kids. Not having your footwear properly fitted may seem like a harmless personal choice ... but when you find yourself with a weight-bearing joint that flops around all muppet-style, don't say passing strange didn't give you a heads up.

Thoughts?

latest:
Passing Strange, Indeed
- 2008-12-16@12:44 p.m.
Kim
- 2008-05-28@10:47 p.m.
What's New
- 2008-05-20@11:16 p.m.
Hey, Kim
- 2008-01-18@9:18 a.m.
Christmas Was Weird
- 2008-01-03@8:11 p.m.

<< previous | next >>

...passing strange .