"normal" was a few blocks back...

.
. . So Danged Intimidating .
.

new
archives
profile
email
notes
100 things
diaryland

in which we try to tone it down a bit
2004-04-03 @ 4:02 a.m.


Rather irritated, really. Thanx for asking.

The Hipster Club is really starting to bug me. No, scratch that. Particular people at this club are starting to bug the holy living shit out of me. Gah.

Y'see, being such a hipster/in-crowd kind of a place -- really, the number of people who try and name-drop per night is just sad -- there are of course in and out crowds at work. Guess which one I'm ending up in. C'mon, guess. I'll give you two tries. Alright, three.

Yeah, just what I need. Y'know really, this is the most irritating recurring trend of employment for me. Socializing with co-workers is inevitably part of the gig, and now as with most times, I've really got too much of my own stuff on my mind to make extra effort to hang out with co-workers.

But, y'see, I've given at least a half-hearted effort twice now, and the outcome of these ventures is that someone really, really doesn't like me. Unfortunately, he's the guy who's the ostensibly in charge of security at this place, as the supervisor who actually is in charge of us obviously needs all the help he can get. And y'know, I wouldn't even be irritated about a person here or there disliking me -- I mean, it happens. I'm a very personable guy, some people just don't take to me. Whatever.

But, while half the security team actually does work like a team, the other half work like a clique. That is to say, they don't so much work as hang out and try and impress women. Which, really, I see as quite understandable. Gorgeous women everywhere, at least half of them obviously on the prowl, why wouldn't any single straight guy spend most of the night doing his absolute best at flirting.

Because you're at fucking work, dickhead. God, this guy is starting to piss me off. Him and his little "in-clique" of co-workers.

Y'know, I could launch into a whole litany of character flaws and shitty work ethics, but to be honest I really don't care that much. I am irritated, but really I'm quite used to other people sucking, that wouldn't get under my skin so much. No, what bugs is being singled out, personally. Now, so long as I think it's still possible it's in my mind, cool. That I'll ignore. But when it becomes clear that you're making a point to try and exclude me? Grow the fuck up. We're at work, not on a fucking playground.

It's sad, because I even know where this guy's animosity comes from. In fact, that's part of what pisses me off. Essentially, he spends his whole time every night just macking on the ladies. Okay, you get to do that while I'm actually working. Not fair, but you're buddies with the boss, so whatever.

But. It's become clear to me that this is why he tries to diss me. In a nutshell, he's afraid of the competetion. And those dear readers who are familiar with my fantastic anti-macking skills should know how ludicrous this fear of his truly is. Yes, I seem to be an intelligent, confident, fantastically good-looking guy. I'm still pretty horrible with women, so no worries, really.

By the way, can I just say something here? Ladies: why on god's green earth would you want to go up to a guy just to tell him he's fantastically attractive? I mean, if that's all you have to say? Okay, I can see if your point is, "You're very attractive, I'd like to get to know you better." But y'know? If that's your point, maybe you should just go ahead and say that. Because -- and yeah, I realize I should feel glad to be able to bitch about this, but it still bugs -- I've gotten this sort of thing several times I've started working, and really my mental response is kinda, "Okay. And?"

Right, so that probably seems ungracious, right? Someone gives you a compliment and you don't receive it as such. Well see, it isn't that I don't appreciate a compliment. I honestly do.

But if you really think some guy is a hottie? Grow a pair, and just go ask the guy out. Look at it this way, if a guy comes over to tell you that you're really attractive, but they don't have much else to say ... what can you say, but "... thanks." So again, compliments are good. But if you're gorgeous and you think I am -- I'd appreciate a fliratious smile or something more. Exact same effect, only not leaving me thinking, "What was the point of that again?"

Alright, I know, I went completely on a tangent, there. And, I'm obviously very crabby. Oh well.

Hm, no wait, that wasn't completely a tangent. Y'see, the other night I thought I was on the schedule but I wasn't, and I ended up hanging out in the place. You know, nice atmosphere and all.

Well, I'm sitting there, and at some point the dude that doesn't like me sees me there and sez Wazzup to me... basically, I'd never hung out there before when I wasn't working, and he wanted to know what I was doing there. He's talking to me for like sixty seconds, when some hyper-blond with the overdone fake tan comes over to talk to him... excepting, of course, he'd just left (flirting with) them, and when he left she stayed parked next to me. Eventually, all three of these nearly platinum blonds were hanging with me, and when Stupid Guy wanders back around it's clear he's no longer the center of all their attention.

But again, this is where he's dumb. Sure, they might have come over because they thought I was cute. But truthfully, I was just bullshitting with them and doling out advice... it isn't that these types were particularly unattractive to me, but they weren't particularly attractive, either. Comparitive to most guys, I do have a somewhat strange concept of beauty, I guess. And as we all know, attraction does work best when it's mutual.

In short, he's no need to be afraid that I'll steal his women. I honestly doubt I'd want to. Even the ones he's currently trying to pick up, I'm sure that after five minutes of conversation it would be perfectly clear that I am no substitute for him. 'Cuz y'see, one of us just has to be the coolest, hippest, top dawg of them all. And one of us could really give a rat's ass.

So yeah, I wanna kick his ass, but not because he's terrified of my entering his social circle. Fair enough, to be honest most of these guys really seem rather vapid. But, seeing as I have to work with them? It would be nice if we could actually communicate with one another.

Now. I have no idea how much time I've spent writing this, but I know one thing: it's too much. Bitching about work? Ick. I really gotta get myself a social life again...

Thoughts?

latest:
Passing Strange, Indeed
- 2008-12-16@12:44 p.m.
Kim
- 2008-05-28@10:47 p.m.
What's New
- 2008-05-20@11:16 p.m.
Hey, Kim
- 2008-01-18@9:18 a.m.
Christmas Was Weird
- 2008-01-03@8:11 p.m.

<< previous | next >>

...passing strange .