"normal" was a few blocks back...

.
. . Deepest, Darkest Secrets .
.

new
archives
profile
email
notes
100 things
diaryland

in which we will not be sharing
2003-12-12 @ 8:41 a.m.


In my general psych class, one of the questions on the finals test was about the Barnum Effect -- essentially, it's how psychologists explain stuff like astrology. Most of us, given a choice between an accurate and detailed description of ourselves or behaviors, and vague, generalized description, will tend to pick the vague description as more "accurate".

An example given was a woman who visits a psychic, and one of the things the psychic said that she was impressed with was, "You are by and large an open and honest person, but you do have a few deep, dark secrets that even your closest friends do not know."

So yeah -- this (fictional) lady was like, "Wow, how'd she know that?"

Got me to thinking -- do we all have deep, dark, secrets that we have every intention of taking to the grave with us? I mean, honestly -- hell yeah, I do. But then... I don't think I would actually have said that till some time in my early twenties. I mean, I'm sure I had my secrets, but none were of the variety that pins under the nails would not get out of me.

It's funny, because though I've had friends who ask about Big Secrets -- and you know, you have stuff like "truth or dare" to get things out of people -- nobody ever thinks to bring up, "How many of us have at least one thing that we will never, ever tell another living soul, as long as we live?"

We never bring this question up, of course, because if you raise your hand and say "Me.", of course now every body will have to wonder what possibly could sweet little you have done that's so awful you'd never tell. It gets worse if you're a person who really doesn't have too many things they keep very secret in the first place ... "Okay, so we as your closest circle of friends, collectively know your most embarrassing, most depraved, most stupid, and every other negative superlative act that you've ever committed -- now you're telling us there's something you'll never tell?"

Right. You can expect to be harassed about that one for the rest of your life.

So of course, the trick would be to just not do anything so bad you'd never tell. Myself, well -- I think it's significant that mine is in my early adulthood. Given that relatively new freedom and responsibility of adulthood, yet without much experience to keep me out of real trouble -- yeah, I've been dumb. To be honest, tho, I've known people who've been much dumber -- and aren't even embarassed about it.

But, that's them, and this is me. But I was just wondering about it -- they say we all have skeletons in our closet. What do you think? Any bones rattling around your storage places?

Don't worry, I wouldn't ask what it is, as I've no intention of giving up mine. I'm just really curious -- do some of us actually get through our entire lives without doing at least one thing that makes us think, "I cannot believe I did that -- nor will I let it happen again, or, especialy will I ever tell anyone that it ever happened at all..."?

Thoughts?

latest:
Passing Strange, Indeed
- 2008-12-16@12:44 p.m.
Kim
- 2008-05-28@10:47 p.m.
What's New
- 2008-05-20@11:16 p.m.
Hey, Kim
- 2008-01-18@9:18 a.m.
Christmas Was Weird
- 2008-01-03@8:11 p.m.

<< previous | next >>

...passing strange .