"normal" was a few blocks back...

.
. . It Doesn't Get Easy .
.

new
archives
profile
email
notes
100 things
diaryland

in which we begin to face facts
2004-04-25 @ 2:15 p.m.


This morning at 11 am, we had an all-employee meeting at work, and after two boring ass hours of stuff that'll impact absolutely nothing in the future, we were done to get back to bed (my plan) have some of the complimetary breakfest (pretty good, from what I tried) or do whatever else it is one would normally do on a sunny Sunday afternoon.

The bulk of the employees? Bartenders, wait staff, security, management and so on? Went to a bar across the way, because they do Bloody Mary breakfasts on Sunday. You know, the kind of breakfasts that last till the late, late afternoon. Just in case you only passed out at sunrise, you understand.

It really sux, because it's not as if I spend a whole lot of time trying to socialize with the people at work when I'm actually doing my job. Why? Because I'm busy doing my job, natch. And honestly, really -- it's not that I have anything against any of them (well, most of them) but just now I don't know if a gigantic new circle of friends is really what I should be focusing on. Particularly not when those friends enthusiastically endorse starting to drink (liquor, no less) way, way before the sun has even considered going down.

So sure, it's not as if they all necessarily do that sort of thing all the time. But nonetheless: Socializing? Boozing. And what is it I'm not supposed to be doing again?

It's kind of fucked up, really. I've already essentially isolated myself from the friends I already had, because they're a bad influence drinking-wise. And so far, I'm not really seeing how I'm making new ones so long as I continue at least trying to stay sober.

And right -- socializing doesn't mean getting smashed. I mean, the point is to go over and hang with your co-workers, right? Why not just have a beer or two, or if you prefer a coke or two, hang out and bullshit with people a bit, and jet when the crowd starts to thin?

Because smart money bets that if I've caught a buzz by 2pm, 2am that night probably will not be a pretty sight. Actually, it's not even so much that the sight would be bad. It might actually be kinda funny, the point is I wouldn't fucking remember it.

Plus, I've just figured out that once I pay rent for this coming month I don't have absolutely any money. I mean, like literally none.

I gotta tell ya, man. Thank god for them anti-depressants, apparently. Or intestinal fortitude, or whatever it is that has me sitting here irritated, rather than... you know, feeling the entire overwhelming weight of Existence bearing down on me.

That gets to be quite a lot after a while.

Thoughts?

latest:
Passing Strange, Indeed
- 2008-12-16@12:44 p.m.
Kim
- 2008-05-28@10:47 p.m.
What's New
- 2008-05-20@11:16 p.m.
Hey, Kim
- 2008-01-18@9:18 a.m.
Christmas Was Weird
- 2008-01-03@8:11 p.m.

<< previous | next >>

...passing strange .