"normal" was a few blocks back...

.
. . Oh, and DUH Again .
.

new
archives
profile
email
notes
100 things
diaryland

in which we have another ah-hah moment
2003-10-21 @ 3:19 p.m.


Owing to my illusion that anyone besides myself is paying attention here, I wanted to say something about the girl in my Monday night class, the one with the fiance and two month old.

Yes indeed, there is attraction there and I'd imagine everyone else in class is imagining that they are in fact seeing a Hookup In Action, but upon reflection I don't really think that's the case at all. See, I'm only dumb in short term, I'll usually figure stuff out if you give me a chance.

Why this girl's obvious desire to spend as much time as possible casually chatting me up? Well, because her life these days revolves around married-with-child environment, and I offer a harmless momentary respite from that.

Cause she's a good Catholic girl (oh, and we all know about those Catholic girls, don't we?) who had the unfortunate circumstance of failed contraceptives, and she and her boy are just doing The Right Thing by getting married. Now myself, I doubt I would do The Right Thing when I have trouble before hand imagining us together forever, but I can still respect that choice.

So yeah, it's just harmless flirting and nothing more. She is quite cute, but it's really all a friend vibe. For a little bit, she can just be a girl flirting with a guy in a class, and not a New Mom and Wife To Be.

But she was talking last night about how she keeps pushing the wedding date back, and there is apparently some in-law drama, and the fact that she wants to stay in the US yet he wants to raise their kid as Canadian, because that's where they're from. See what I mean about having trouble imagining blissful matrimony for the rest of your life?

But regardless, I certainly don't intend to try and set up and "discrete" get-togethers, and I doubt that she does either, so really it's all good. Except, of course, for the one married girl in the class who always seems disappointed she doesn't get to talk to me because the engaged girl beats her to it.

Man, where have all the single girls gone?

Thoughts?

latest:
Passing Strange, Indeed
- 2008-12-16@12:44 p.m.
Kim
- 2008-05-28@10:47 p.m.
What's New
- 2008-05-20@11:16 p.m.
Hey, Kim
- 2008-01-18@9:18 a.m.
Christmas Was Weird
- 2008-01-03@8:11 p.m.

<< previous | next >>

...passing strange .