"normal" was a few blocks back...

.
. . Endings And Beginnings .
.

new
archives
profile
email
notes
100 things
diaryland

in which we really should attend more pressing matters
2004-01-05 @ 12:54 p.m.


Hm. I'm in a bit of a melancholy mood. Not exactly sure as to why, tho. Well, maybe I've some ideas.

Thinkng about beginnings and endings ... a topic I was fairly obsessive about for most of my young life. Because in stories, you have definite beginnings and endings. And as humans, I think we like to try and feel that our lives are that way, as much as possible.

But it's not really like that, is it? I mean, you can say when you met someone, but can you pinpoint when you became friends? Or if you didn't, at what point that happened instead?

Falling into or out of love is a good one. Because it's a very powerful thing when we experience either of those -- but usually, exactly when (and how and why) those things happen we're never sure about. I mean, when exactly was your childhood? The earlier part of your life, easy enough -- but when did you stop being a child? Or are you still?

At what point did you become "mature" or adult? And in the process of discovering and fulfilling yourself -- can you say for certain at what point in that journey you are?

I suppose the melancholy of all this for me is that you can only assign beginnings or endings after the fact, for the most part. How many times, towards the end of a relationship, were you suddenly struck by how much this relationship meant to you/how much you liked this person -- and that somehow, you'd missed when exactly that closeness developed?

I mean, we may remember phases -- you know, I can say I became friends with X in the first half of 2000 -- but six months is an awful long beginning. If I wrote a story that way, I kinda doubt anyone would stick around for the epilogue.

But, it's missing the endings that really gets me. Like recall above the relationship that at some point became so integral to your worldview -- when it means so much to both people, it's usually something you at least try to hold on to. But in most cases -- most friendships and relationships simply are not life-long. People grow apart. Go in different directions. Become different people, with different needs, likes, and different people to fulfill those things or not.

I don't think it's something we mention much, but that moment when you belatedly realize that something has been over, and you kinda missed the ending ... yeah, it kinda sux.

Thoughts?

latest:
Passing Strange, Indeed
- 2008-12-16@12:44 p.m.
Kim
- 2008-05-28@10:47 p.m.
What's New
- 2008-05-20@11:16 p.m.
Hey, Kim
- 2008-01-18@9:18 a.m.
Christmas Was Weird
- 2008-01-03@8:11 p.m.

<< previous | next >>

...passing strange .