"normal" was a few blocks back...

.
. . A Few Things About Love .
.

new
archives
profile
email
notes
100 things
diaryland

in which we speak of that which we know not much
2004-07-16 @ 3:36 p.m.


Well, as I was thinking about having waxed on and on about sex so recently, a few days ago I'd sat down and actually began philosophizing quite a bit about love, tho truthfully I felt on much shakier ground with the one topic as opposed to the other. Surprisingly (well, probably not so much for any regular reader) I actually found I had quite a bit to say on the matter. Unfortunately, after much writing my computer glitched and I lost the whole thing. Any who've been there, which I imagine is most of us, could attest to how unenthusiastic we will tend to be to jump right in to trying to write all that again. So, we'll just call that a loss.

I do have a few things, tho.

One? Okay, if you have a "friend" who you know is in love with you (particularly if they have professed such to you) you really ought not to spend much time with that person. Because honestly, whatever they tell you or themselves, they are still hoping beyond hope that one day you'll feel the same, and your keeping them around, for whatever reason, is really rather just cruel and selfish. Along the same lines, if you are such a "friend" to someone -- someone you're helplessly in love with who does not feel the same -- realize you are not really their friend nor vice-versa.

I'm sure some of you out there would argue that I cannot make such broad-sweeping claims. But actually I can. And I'm even right, too.

Lessee, what else -- oh, a question for the ladies. Let's say that there's some noble-spirited, beautiful, strong, vibrant and kindhearted man that you fall in love with, who loves kids, has a great sense of humor, and is really just astonishing in the bedroom. Well of course there has to be a catch. Supposing that this wonderful man is not only not gainfully employed now, but we can say beyond a certainty that he never will be. It's not that he doesn't work at all. Just that the work he does will never get him even above the poverty line, and there's absolutely nothing in him that would ever wish to change that.

So clearly, the question is: Is this man a keeper? Why or why not? Inquiring minds want to know.

Okay, besides those I've just one piece of advice for those wary about love: If you find someone who's okay but not really fantastic, go for it. If you find yourself falling head over heels for some fantastic person? Run for it, kids. Trust me, that ain't askin' for nothin but trouble.

And I'm out.

Thoughts?

latest:
Passing Strange, Indeed
- 2008-12-16@12:44 p.m.
Kim
- 2008-05-28@10:47 p.m.
What's New
- 2008-05-20@11:16 p.m.
Hey, Kim
- 2008-01-18@9:18 a.m.
Christmas Was Weird
- 2008-01-03@8:11 p.m.

<< previous | next >>

...passing strange .