"normal" was a few blocks back...

.
. . Mama, Don't Let Your Babies Grow Up To Be Mama's Boys .
.

new
archives
profile
email
notes
100 things
diaryland

in which we might know what we're talking about
2004-02-10 @ 10:16 a.m.


Don't think I really have a whole lot of a point to make here, just something that's wandered across my mind recently that I felt like sharing. And really, since as far as I know not a single person who might read this has a son, it's completely not relevant to anything ... well, unless anyone would remember this years from now when/if they did have a boy-child. Which I really think is quite unlikely. But, as I'm procrastinating about going to a dental appointment, I still somehow find this topic quite worthwhile.

"Mama's Boy's". Now, allow me to define what I mean. A guy who is so completely, utterly, helplessly dominated and devoted to his mom that he'll be essentially incapable of ever really loving another woman, for fear of some sense of disloyalty to his dear old Ma? Well, not so much. I mean, you can call that a Mama's boy, certainly -- but it's not so much what I'm referring to. I'd have to consider that behavior just a tad dysfunctional, and thus something more appropriate for therapy rather than general discussion.

Nah, what I'm referring to is a more watered down version -- tho still as potentially irritating to any woman who might fall for such a guy. Well, actually I don't think anyone would get the chance with the first guy, seeing as he would be too busy cooking dinner and shopping for his mom. Anyway, more like... regardless of his age, his mom is always on some kind of pedestal as the coolest thing since sliced bread. And, he's realistically always wrapped around her finger -- ie, there's not a whole lot of things he's able to say "no" to her about. As well, and this one is probably the most key factor for what I mean -- this guy will not do anything that his mom would disapprove of. Well, at least not with a whole world of guilt, about on the scale of how deeply religious people feel when they commit some greivous sin.

I'm sayin, a guy who, long after he's out of the house and far from the watchful eye of his mother's authority, still pretty much lives his life according to the guidelines that would make her happy ... regardless of if he, or his wife for that matter, would be happier otherwise.

I bring this up for two reasons. One, pretty much I'm really kinda that sort of guy. But more importantly, I was discussing this once upon a time with a girl I was dating, who had two sons, 2 and 3 years old. And she was saying she really hoped and wanted for her sons to grow up to be Mama's boys. And I argued that yeah, as a mom, there's nothing but good there, so it makes sense ... but on the other hand, I was asking her if she really thought that she'd want her sons, as grown men, to actually be obvious Mama's Boys. She claimed she would.

Now, is it just me, or is a mama's boy kinda a bad thing? Now again, we're not talking someone who is incapable of standing up to his mom -- we're talking about someone for whom it would never be an issue, because his essential sense of right and wrong pretty much reflect hers, anyway.

So what do y'all think? Is "mama's boy" not a negative? Okay, my dentist will be pissed off at me now. Gotta run.

-Dentist's Boy

Thoughts?

latest:
Passing Strange, Indeed
- 2008-12-16@12:44 p.m.
Kim
- 2008-05-28@10:47 p.m.
What's New
- 2008-05-20@11:16 p.m.
Hey, Kim
- 2008-01-18@9:18 a.m.
Christmas Was Weird
- 2008-01-03@8:11 p.m.

<< previous | next >>

...passing strange .