"normal" was a few blocks back...

.
. . March Of Birthdays! .
.

new
archives
profile
email
notes
100 things
diaryland

in which we get older and wiser
2005-02-25 @ 8:53 a.m.


So my birthday is coming up in a couple of weeks ... and Becky's birthday was this past weekend ... so I was kind of remembering that this time of year is a period of many birthdays for those I read and am read by in the jolly ol realm of diaryland. So a collective and approximate Happy Birthday to all of us who's anniversary of entering this harsh, cruel world is drawing nigh...

Beyond that, I must admit I don't have much of an entry in me, I just happened to notice that I hadn't updated in 10 days. It's not so much for a lack of anything to say as that I've been rather distracted. You know, within the next 2-4 months, unless something changes, I apparently will be sharing a living space with my beloved CG. Scary, since I actually haven't lived with anyone (not even a roomate) of my own choosing and desire since I left home at 18. And more than that general hesitance, there's a particular issue of how she and I communicate that causes me fits, so we'll have to work that out before any names are actually going on any leases.

In other news, I had an interview Wednesday for the job that GBF left this past weekend and it seemed to go pretty well, no doubt in part due to a good word from him. The only complicating factor was that I'd also filled out an application for another job at this same place that pays more and asks more of you, but which also requires a more specific fit -- and, y'know, I just happen to be qualified for it. I kinda blew it off myself, but sure enough I got the call for the interview for that job the next day, which is what I'm off to do in about an hour on this lovely winter morning. It's kind of frustrating, because the higher pay and greater hours would be nice for the accumulated debt, but realistically I don't think that a 40hr/wk job would be good with school at this point ... especially not considering how much of my time and energy goes into maintaining the relationship with CG. Love her to death, but my girl definitely is high maintenance.

Anyway, as I'm not actually hired for the first job yet I'm not about to just blow off an interview for what would be a good job in its own right. That first guy really could have made my life a lot simpler by just hiring me right on the spot.

Hm, did I mention that I've quit smoking? Still going pretty strong with that. Yay me, I suppose.

Oh, I also realized this morning that the tests required to get into graduate school are offered on very limited dates. In fact, from what I saw it looked like I'm just screwed for this year if I need to take the general test to get into any program. To which I can only respond, uh-oh.

On the other hand, the deadline for registering for subject tests is today. So, um. I guess yay me?

Thoughts?

latest:
Passing Strange, Indeed
- 2008-12-16@12:44 p.m.
Kim
- 2008-05-28@10:47 p.m.
What's New
- 2008-05-20@11:16 p.m.
Hey, Kim
- 2008-01-18@9:18 a.m.
Christmas Was Weird
- 2008-01-03@8:11 p.m.

<< previous | next >>

...passing strange .