"normal" was a few blocks back...

.
. . . . . What Was I Saying? .
.

new
archives
profile
email
notes
100 things
diaryland

in which we are way too dramatic
2005-02-14 @ 11:34 p.m.


Well, I really didn't get my girl anything for the actual day of Valentine's. As far as that goes, I really have very little doubt that I will pay for that in some aspect or another, at some point in the near future. I mean, I did do some kinda romantic stuff last week (the fighting notwithstanding) and I did take her out for a nice dinner last night -- she looked gorgeous, btw -- but even with all the stuff I had to do today, I couldn't be bothered with even a little card? Doesn't matter how much she says it's just a commercial, consumerist holiday -- I know my girl, and I know she still wanted something on this day.

What sucks is that an ecard or so probably would have been enough, and honestly I did try for over two fucking hours to send her an ecard, eflowers, something online today. The gods were not with me, because for one glitch after another all those sites just gave me a great big "fuck you". It's funny, because if I could have known in advance that the e-route would be fruitless, I could have spent the same amount of time just getting an actual card, and actually physically dropping it by. I mean, I was exhausted and short on time today, but I spent the time anyway, only to come up empty-handed in the end. Guess they're right what they say about hindsight, huh?

Anyhow that's the only bad news, we didn't have any sort of big conversation where we decided we had to chill out with our whirlwind romance or anything. I mean, that may still be coming, but today the conversations we had were actually good, and last night was a good night together.

I do seem to recall predictions of hardship, heartbreak, and tragedy, and all I can say about that at this point is that I seem to be getting swept up into the spirit of the constant dramatic tale that my life is becoming. However hardcore, enlightened feminist she might be, in truth I believe CG has an image of love to heavily influenced by romance novels and overly dramatic, soap-operary visual depictions of love. That is, if everything is just hunky-dory that's just a little too boring and it probably isn't love. On the other hand, if you're at each other's throats almost as often as you're getting lost in each other's eyes, it must be something real...

I've honestly never been that sort of guy, and realistically I don't know how well I can function over a lifetime under such conditions. I mean, crisis really does feel like crisis to me, and I don't want to live there.

On the other hand ... hell, it's not like I can predict the future.

It's a wacky world, kids. Let's all of us be careful out there, okay?

Thoughts?

latest:
Passing Strange, Indeed
- 2008-12-16@12:44 p.m.
Kim
- 2008-05-28@10:47 p.m.
What's New
- 2008-05-20@11:16 p.m.
Hey, Kim
- 2008-01-18@9:18 a.m.
Christmas Was Weird
- 2008-01-03@8:11 p.m.

<< previous | next >>

...passing strange .