"normal" was a few blocks back...

.
. . Passing The Strangeness On .
.

new
archives
profile
email
notes
100 things
diaryland

in which we share the strangeness
2006-05-09 @ 12:18 a.m.


I've been tagged by Becky.

The first player of this "game" starts with the topic "6 weird habits/things/about yourself" and people who get tagged need to write a blog about their 6 weird habits/things as well as state this rule clearly. In the end, you need to choose the next 6 people to be tagged and list their names. Don't forget to leave a comment that says "you are tagged" in their comments and tell them to read your blog.

1. I actually believe that the sheer unreality of computer games has something real to teach us about the world that we live in. I think this because our "sheer unreality" -- the inner/mental worlds we live in -- directly affect the physical, "real" world in palpable ways. Or, as Lynda Barry put it, "just because something's imaginary doesn't mean it's not real..."

2. I actually thought the Spice Girls had a certain kind of charisma. And I actually have decent taste in music. And I'm not now, nor was I at the time, a preteen girl. Don't get me wrong, I didn't think they were sexy -- they were too irritating for that. But God love 'em -- there was something in that spunky, sassy optimism that was oddly alluring.

3. I will watch a movie I know will be horrible, just of the off chance they might do something cool with a special effects action sequence at some point. I mean, you don't get too many stories with giant radiactive ghost ninjas fighting space gnomes -- just in case there's something cool, you wouldn't want to miss it. Right?

4. I can tell the passage of time accurately, even without a watch. I mean, down the the minute, even if I haven't seen a clock in over a day. Yes, this works through knowing how long I've been asleep. This is weirder for the fact that I'm never on time for anything. I know how much time has passed -- it just doesn't matter what the clock says.

5. I have a weakness for bad compulsive liars. Even as part of me is irritated at the ludicrous bullshit I'm being fed, another part of me is always fascinated by how some people would paint themselves, if anything about them was possibly true. I mean, I figure plenty of people bullshit now and then -- bad liars are interesting because I wonder, why would you lie about that?!

6. I occassionally seriously overspice and/or overcook my food, specifically for the overwhelming unpleasant taste of it all. It's like sometimes I really want to experience too much of a good thing -- it's like I'm a mild culinary masochist: It's bad in a good way...

Weird enough for ya? I'm tagging candor, girlsdontcry, iambucket, kim, sososadgirl, and tariqua.

So get on with the weirdness...

Thoughts?

latest:
Passing Strange, Indeed
- 2008-12-16@12:44 p.m.
Kim
- 2008-05-28@10:47 p.m.
What's New
- 2008-05-20@11:16 p.m.
Hey, Kim
- 2008-01-18@9:18 a.m.
Christmas Was Weird
- 2008-01-03@8:11 p.m.

<< previous | next >>

...passing strange .