"normal" was a few blocks back...

.
. . Submitted For Your Perusal .
.

new
archives
profile
email
notes
100 things
diaryland

in which we wish our arms didn't hurt so bad
2004-01-27 @ 9:58 a.m.


Hm. Well, ya know, bein the must-screw-up kinda individual that I usually am, of course I ended up capping off my night o' working out with boozing up to the point that I was useless for the entirety of the next day. Yet, in my own defense, allow me to point out that it really was not my intent -- where I live, there currently is a helluva lot of snow on the ground, and myself I tend to find driving around in it quite a hassle. It's actually kind of funny... in my experience, the places that get the most snow tend to have some of the absolute worse snow-drivers ... like the ice and snow isn't bad enough, but I have to watch out for other people spinning out and hitting me as well.

And so, as I was quite diminished after my intense workout and am well aware that one should ideally try and replace all the lost nutrients and such they've burned at the gym, I wanted food while having no desire to drive. And as it happens, there's not much around these parts to walk to, as far as food goes, that's not a bar. Well, okay, there actually are a few places during the day, but this was night, and pretty much you have a convenience store and bars at this point. And cheap happy hour food seemed far more appealing than frozen convenience store food. It's all about your own personal taste.

But get this -- and this really sucks -- do you party people know what rumpleminz is? I don't just mean that you've heard of it -- I mean, do ya realize this is a pepperminty schnapps that taste, ultimately, like a junior mint ... BUT. And unfortunately, as some dude I'd never met started shoving shots my way within ten minutes of me sipping a beer, I wish I'd know the "BUT" before hand. This crap's like 100 proof apparently. You'd never have any idea. I mean, I honestly would not have done three (good sized) shots of something 100 proof within an hour if I knew that's how strong it was. And really -- why in the world does some guy just start buying you shots anyways? Granted, we were having a nice conversation ... but wow, I really got lit.

So that part kinda sucked. Not only was I supposed to do all kinds of stuff yesterday (that I didn't), but once I was quite buzzed I started buying rounds of shots. Really, I'm a quite congenial and generous drunk. I actually plan to avoid that particular place for quite a while now, not simply because I don't really wanna drink anytime soon, but also because I recall that I was really, really social that night -- I just had to talk to everybody, and the bad part is I have no idea what I had to talk to everybody about. I mean, people always seem to enjoy my company when I'm like that -- just kinda bugs me, cause in truth I'm just not quite that friendly.

But, as it happens Fate works in some strange ways. Because one of the people I started talking to was like, "Yeah, of course I remember you." (This happens way too much for my taste -- it's fallout from the drunk/friendly thing: We had a very nice conversation that I barely remember, so of course I won't recognize your face. But you'll remember me. Gah.) So as it happens I just keep talking to her while waiting for some kinda clue as to who she is... and at some point I hear her tell her roomate that we'd made out once in one of our other local bars. This was good, because at that point I instantly recalled who she was (good thing, huh? scary if that was something so common it didn't ring a bell) and the rest of the night went from there.

Long story short, we're supposed to hang out sometime Thursday after my class... but there's an interesting backstory to who she is and why I haven't seen her for a year -- and I will tell it after I've showered, because all that stuff I had to do yesterday? Gotta get it done today.

No rest for the wicked, kids.

Thoughts?

latest:
Passing Strange, Indeed
- 2008-12-16@12:44 p.m.
Kim
- 2008-05-28@10:47 p.m.
What's New
- 2008-05-20@11:16 p.m.
Hey, Kim
- 2008-01-18@9:18 a.m.
Christmas Was Weird
- 2008-01-03@8:11 p.m.

<< previous | next >>

...passing strange .