"normal" was a few blocks back...

.
. . Now I'm Just Scary Sane .
.

new
archives
profile
email
notes
100 things
diaryland

in which we are so extreme as to seem the reverse
2003-11-11 @ 4:59 p.m.


Well, I'm full, I'm tired, and I'm gonna take a nap.

Hey, I envision a better world: Workdays only include approximately six hours of actual work. That time is broken up by breaks, an hour for lunch, and an hour for a nap.

And I mean, really -- just as office spaces have cubicles, companies would have to designate a quiet little area with relative privacy that would really be your own little place to just stretch out and doze after a nice lunch.

And then, part of the beauty -- well, first of all, overtime in general should just be illegal. I mean like, actually illegal. We don't really care if you could use the extra hours. We'd be sent to jail for letting you work hard when there's no need to. So the thing is -- in those few professions where overtime might actually be necessary -- sure, you'd work it, but you'd also get extra nap time, too.

I'm a fuckin dreamer, man.

Moreover, our six-hour workdays with naps included only make up a four-day work week. After all, family is the basic unit of society -- does it really make sense to ignore it for the benefit of business? I think not.

Yes, one day I will put all the wrongs of the world aright.

Meantime, at least my therapist agrees with me that I'm scary sane in a world full of crazy people. I think she actually said something about the world not being beautiful enough for a creature like me, or something like that ... I don't know, that's about when she started crying and asked if she could adopt me.

No, thanks. I already have a mom, and she really is enough.

So hope yall's Tuesdays kicked so much ass.

Thoughts?

latest:
Passing Strange, Indeed
- 2008-12-16@12:44 p.m.
Kim
- 2008-05-28@10:47 p.m.
What's New
- 2008-05-20@11:16 p.m.
Hey, Kim
- 2008-01-18@9:18 a.m.
Christmas Was Weird
- 2008-01-03@8:11 p.m.

<< previous | next >>

...passing strange .