"normal" was a few blocks back...

.
. . Who Needs Therapy? .
.

new
archives
profile
email
notes
100 things
diaryland

in which regret the tendency to do things out of obligation
2003-11-11 @ 12:19 p.m.


Well.

It's been a nice mellow day, and I rather suspect it should remain as such. In fact, my biggest dilemma at the moment is whether I will:

A) sleep through the entire afternoon and evening (I know I was just complaining about that sort of thing a bit ago, but my complaints were premature -- turns out I got rid of the cold that had been nagging me for a bit over a week by sleeping through Sunday. See, sometimes hardcore slacking is good for you.)

or B) Maybe see a movie and later grab a bite to eat with some friends -- a nice option, except that this sort of intention, if including too many of my friends, somehow quite magically becomes, "... I can't believe you ordered another round. It's closing time!"

"Well drink fast, then!"

or C) actually work on the lab project I need to turn in tomorrow, which would actually be a week late for when it was really due. Considering we're really meant to not write these sorts of things in one draft in a couple of hours, this might really be the wiser choice. But then again, I never claimed to be wise.

Well okay. Rarely.

But, before I move on to any of those wonderful activities, I've a therapist's appointment in about an hour. I'm not really feeling much like going -- I don't really have much I feel that needs to be therapized right this moment, and my therapist is retiring at the end of the month anyway.

So I suppose ultimately, I'm going because I think it'd be rude to not see her at least once more, what with having had our "therapeutic relationship" for the better part of a year. Plus ... well, yeah. As it turns out, I was supposed to see her a week ago, too.

You see, last Tuesday evening was one of those nights where I thought I'd just hang out a bit with a couple of friends -- this resulted in getting home at 8 a.m., and subsequently sleeping straight through all of Wednesday. I mean, I actually woke up at 9 p.m., which was just a little late for my appointment.

Yeah. That's really something I feel like explaining to her.

"So why did you drink so much?"

"Um ... because it was there?"

Yes, I have horrible self-control habits. Someone wise once said, "If you're gonna do it, over-do it..." And I think sometimes I even over-do it with that bit of advice.

In any event, I'm considering behaving all teenager-surly and noncommunicative, just for a change of pace.

"Don't preach to me, man!"

Except, of course, that when you're paying for someone to tell you crap, I suppose you might say such a response wouldn't make sense.

Meh. I know one thing: My bed is very, very comfortable. And you know what? That's enough for me.

Thoughts?

latest:
Passing Strange, Indeed
- 2008-12-16@12:44 p.m.
Kim
- 2008-05-28@10:47 p.m.
What's New
- 2008-05-20@11:16 p.m.
Hey, Kim
- 2008-01-18@9:18 a.m.
Christmas Was Weird
- 2008-01-03@8:11 p.m.

<< previous | next >>

...passing strange .