"normal" was a few blocks back...

.
. . Screw The Eighties .
.

new
archives
profile
email
notes
100 things
diaryland

in which we think once was enough
2004-02-07 @ 7:16 p.m.


Y'know, tonight I'm invited to an 80's party. That is, of course, an 80's themed party ... if it was an actual lets-travel-back-in-time-to-the-80's party, I might just be a bit more excited. Only because, honestly, I'd expect the opportunity to skip out of the party and head out to go set my 80's self straight. Hopefully it would be late 80's, so I'd be dealing with a teenager instead of a child... I don't think I began to truly get exactly how much life sucked till I was in my teens, so I doubt a 10 year old me would really get what I was on about.

Anyways, I'm not sure if I want to go to this party. Dressing up in 80's gear is required, and if you have none they'll supply you with it. Fanfuckingtastic. Obviously, this party is being thrown by someone young enough to not truly appreciate the horror of early 80's fashion. Sure, it's cute and funny now... but when it was all you had to wear, it kinda sucked. In fact, I didn't dress 80's even in the 80's, ergo I was not considered cool. My taste wasn't fashionable till grunge hit in the 90's -- hell, even then only for about six months. But in the least then, everything wasn't -- god, all day-glo and faux-ripped shirts. Geez.

Do I really want to go to a party with that much hairspray required? I'm really kinda doubting it.

Thoughts?

latest:
Passing Strange, Indeed
- 2008-12-16@12:44 p.m.
Kim
- 2008-05-28@10:47 p.m.
What's New
- 2008-05-20@11:16 p.m.
Hey, Kim
- 2008-01-18@9:18 a.m.
Christmas Was Weird
- 2008-01-03@8:11 p.m.

<< previous | next >>

...passing strange .