"normal" was a few blocks back...

.
. . Oh, We Are So Fucking Even .
.

new
archives
profile
email
notes
100 things
diaryland

in which -- yet again -- we just can't get a break
2004-08-20 @ 4:46 a.m.


In just the previous entry, I was bitching about a class I didn't really look forward to taking. Well y'know, I'm still gonna have to take it, regardless, but guess what? Ha ha -- oh, not just yet. Ah, leave the good stuff for last, that's my motto.

You can not possibly imagine how cheesed off I am at right this moment. Gah. I took a little nap before I went to work tonight, just about an hour and a half. Checked my answering machine as I was leaving: Less than a week before classes start, these geniuses cancel a 5 credit class! Oh, yes. Just for any of us who might hold it as slightly important to actually add up to being a full time student? ... oh, and particularly if you're, say, about in your final year so there's absolutely nothing left in the way of classes outside your major that you might take?

Gah. You probably have no idea what I'm babbling on about, so let me try and actually think/write clearly. In a nutshell, I need 12 credits to be full time, I definitely need to be full time, and -- joy of joys -- in my major there's only one other 5 credit class offered, ever. And as you might guess, that would not be a class that would have any open seats left -- assuming, of course, the class is being offered anymore this semester at all.

Because, see, that professor to whom I felt I'd been a less than sterling student? Well, for whatever reason he can't teach the class I was registered for, which is why it's now cancelled. He also teaches the other 5 credit class, so that one may well be cancelled, too. Right about now, I imagine I'm one of anywhere from 30 to 100 psychology majors who are distraught over the idea of either dropping to part time status as a student or padding their transcript with classes like Introduction to Art Therapy.

I was a bad student? Well bad, bad professor! Bad professor! NO!

Sadly, I don't think the rolled-up-paper bit can help me, here. I tell ya, anything short of life threatening illness in the way of explaining why he coudln't teach this class definitely puts this guy on my shitlist. I've spent the last couple hours combing pointlessly through what I have left available to me in my degree program and what's left as open classes in at the school. And it ain't lookin good.

I can end up with anywhere from 13-15 credits to tackle this semester (which would necessitate "wasting" the time and money on one class, as there's no way I'm taking that many actual difficult upper level credits at once -- learned better this past semester) or I can stick with 7-11 credits that I'd actually need, which would just throw me into an even more dismal financial limbo than I'm already in, as I've no idea how dropping below full time would affect my financial aid. Um, besides cutting it drastically, obviously.

You feeling sorry for me, yet? No, I'm not doing quite enough of it on my own, thank you very much. This is my very own pity party here, and everybody's invited.

Poor me. Poor me.

Okay, I'm gonna retire to my bed to whine and moan myself to sleep now. As classes start Monday, this will leave me all the weekend to sort this out -- keeping in mind, of course, that I have to be one of many scrambling for a new academic schedule at this point.

Oh, the joys of higher education.

Thoughts?

latest:
Passing Strange, Indeed
- 2008-12-16@12:44 p.m.
Kim
- 2008-05-28@10:47 p.m.
What's New
- 2008-05-20@11:16 p.m.
Hey, Kim
- 2008-01-18@9:18 a.m.
Christmas Was Weird
- 2008-01-03@8:11 p.m.

<< previous | next >>

...passing strange .