"normal" was a few blocks back...

.
. . ... Becaue I'm Tyler Durden .
.

new
archives
profile
email
notes
100 things
diaryland

in which we point out we are not that insane
2003-11-09 @ 5:27 a.m.


Well, mostly because everyone was already wasted when I got there, that party wasn't anywhere near as bad as it could have been.

And allow me to point out why, I think, my arrival was met with "strange is here!" and "oh, the girls in there are going crazy!"

For the record, they totally were not. Mostly people were just in various stages of trashed.

And my being sober (for a change) in such a situation, has perhaps gifted me with something I don't normally see: Yes, I say all kinds of crazy things. But it's because they need me to.

If you've seen the movie "Fight Club" .... I am "Tyler Durden" in the sense that I say all these impractical, hard-to-hear, challenging things -- that in a weird way make perfect sense. As in, "You may be infuriating, but you may also be right.

But here's the catch, kids -- Edward Norton's character in that movie was a split personality. The straight-laced, normal, sane side of him never had to reconcile Tyler's ideals to reality ... and I might be crazy, but I'm not that crazy.

If you've seen the movie -- recall the "acid burn" scene? How about the part where he takes his hands off the wheel, and asks those guys if there's one thing they wish they'd done before they'd died, what it would be? Better yet -- where he beats holy living hell out of Jared Leto's character, and everybody's thinking What the FUCK?!?

See, the "normal" side of that character had no guilt or doubts to deal with for fucking with people, because he had no idea he was doing it. He thought it was all "Tyler".

Well -- maybe I tell people what they need to hear, when they need to hear it. Maybe I behave the way they need to see someone behave, to have the courage to do what they need to.

But check out the What God Wants entry, folks. Unlike Tyler Durden, I'm pretty fucking far from knowing for a fact that I'm infallible, and that the world should be reshaped in my image.

Okay, don't get me wrong -- I do strongly suspect that that is true -- but imagine you're Helena Bonham-Carter's character, when Norton's character kicks her out after a night of amazing sex -- Tyler had no worries, because he knew they were two different people.

I'm only one guy. And while I may have saved her life, and been a great addition to her life -- when I ask her to leave so I can get on with my own stuff, I will feel guilty.

In short -- I only seem like Tyler Durden. I can think like that. But I also have a conscience.

I spent 3 and 1/2 hours giving advice to people on love, life and relationships tonight -- and tomorrow, when they're afraid of the choices they've made -- is it somehow my fault, because I didn't stay silent when they asked?

Bloody hell. I have so much schoolwork to do tomorrow, it aint even funny.

Dontcha just wish you were me?

Thoughts?

latest:
Passing Strange, Indeed
- 2008-12-16@12:44 p.m.
Kim
- 2008-05-28@10:47 p.m.
What's New
- 2008-05-20@11:16 p.m.
Hey, Kim
- 2008-01-18@9:18 a.m.
Christmas Was Weird
- 2008-01-03@8:11 p.m.

<< previous | next >>

...passing strange .