"normal" was a few blocks back...

.
. . The Vote Thang .
.

new
archives
profile
email
notes
100 things
diaryland

in which we enjoy ceremonial acts
2006-09-12 @ 6:18 p.m.


So yeah, I wasn't gonna, but then the nurse who stops by once a week to give the meds for the guys at the house I work at started in on me about it. She's a nice lady, even if she can be a bit on the talkative side ... and it was, in fact, as she was leaving and had already been there for an hour when she asked if I'd voted. She was wearing the tell-tale sticker, you'd think she would have asked before. But I was honest when she asked, so that earned me a good 15 minutes of how incredibly important primaries are and yadda yadda. And what the hell, she's right.

So vote, even if we're only a democracy in name. You'll be doing what would be the right thing to do, if your actions had any ability to actually effect our government one way or another.

Myself, I voted for the one candidate I was familiar with, and as far as the rest I went for either the female on the ticket or the minority -- certainly I have no reason to assume these people would be good once in office, but I figure I have good reason to assume they'll be getting less votes in general, so what the hell ... and as far as it goes, if they are elected and are crappy, so what? Clearly, the majority of the white men in elected offices don't do what I'd like them to do, either.

Hm. Participating in a system you have absolutely no faith in. Gives me the warm glowies, it does.

So yeah. Go do that thang, if you haven't already. Then journal bitterly about the experience.

Thoughts?

latest:
Passing Strange, Indeed
- 2008-12-16@12:44 p.m.
Kim
- 2008-05-28@10:47 p.m.
What's New
- 2008-05-20@11:16 p.m.
Hey, Kim
- 2008-01-18@9:18 a.m.
Christmas Was Weird
- 2008-01-03@8:11 p.m.

<< previous | next >>

...passing strange .