"normal" was a few blocks back...

.
. . All About Romance .
.

new
archives
profile
email
notes
100 things
diaryland

in which we really have no idea
2004-10-11 @ 10:04 p.m.


I've been really sick these last couple of days. Yesterday I would go into these coughing fits that made me scared I was gonna lose my lunch -- you know, where you're coughing so violently that you can't stop, even when there's no air left in your lungs? Fun. Plus, a fever, upset stomach, and all the mucus a boy could dream of. So yeah, been taking it easy these couple of days. Probably for the best.

Anyhow ... yeah, the girl I wrote to last week writes me back and tells me she "envisions romance." Oh, goody. I am so all over that one.

Romance, huh? It's a nice idea, but sadly I don't think you can really request such things. You'll just get them or not, really.

I dunno, I don't suppose my present poor health contributes positively to my mood, but really I'm left thinking that I can hardly be romantic if I don't see you. Here we come to the problem with the very concept of "playing hard to get" or what have you -- it's cool if you want the thrill of the chase and all. But I think there's a danger there of running away so well you forget that you actually want the guy to catch you.

Assuming, of course, that you actually want to be caught. Assuming, as well, that you actually know what you want.

Personally? I think the "romance" thing is just a front, a purposeful complication/slowing down of a new entanglement, motivated by fear of this one going as horribly as the last one.

So what do you do? If you want someone, yet are utterly convinced that things will go horribly if you let yourself have them? I say don't be such a chicken, we only live once and should really try to get as much out of this once as possible.

That's just me, tho.

Thoughts?

latest:
Passing Strange, Indeed
- 2008-12-16@12:44 p.m.
Kim
- 2008-05-28@10:47 p.m.
What's New
- 2008-05-20@11:16 p.m.
Hey, Kim
- 2008-01-18@9:18 a.m.
Christmas Was Weird
- 2008-01-03@8:11 p.m.

<< previous | next >>

...passing strange .