"normal" was a few blocks back...

.
. . Why Boys Shouldn't Take Anti-Depressants .
.

new
archives
profile
email
notes
100 things
diaryland

in which we wonder if it's really worth it
2003-12-14 @ 2:54 a.m.


So yeah, one of my favorite passtimes is masturbation. Normally, this wouldn't be something I'd bother pointing out, as in my opinion anyone who says they don't masturbate at all is lying thru their fucking teeth. That, or so repressed I would worry about standing too close, 'cause at any minute they might just explode.*

(*Wait, small side note: I know one girl who says she can't orgasm through masturbation. Which, besides being what I think is the opposite of what one might expect if someone has trouble with one or the other, also kinda makes it unlikely that she can ever stay single for more than a couple of weeks. So anyway, I'm sure there's exceptions to every rule.)

But I bring up masturbation because it's something that I really ought not to even try bothering with these days. Actually, come to think of it, I guess I'm pretty much in the same boat as the girl I mention above -- except, for me, this is not the normal state of affairs, and I find it really quite irritating.

You see, I've mentioned before that I've been prescribed zoloft and wellbutrin ... well, the good part is that, overall, I've been pretty free of side effects. No nauseau, tiredness, headaches, diarrhea, any of that fun stuff.

Bad part? Well. If it's gonna happen at all, it now takes literally fucking hours for me to get off.

You have absolutely no fucking idea how irritating that is.

I mean, I can get turned on. My libido hasn't slacked off in the least. But while my desire is sustained, my ability to do something about is has pretty much been removed.

I mean, even as far as non-solo sex goes -- fictional stereotypes aside, how many women really want to have sex for several hours straight? (Don't get me wrong, it's not that I've not known any ... more like, I haven't known any who are okay with that every single time. Sometimes, a quickie is really kinda nice.)

I can only hope that this is temporary. I actually had this problem back when I first began taking zoloft, but I was eventually able to function pretty much normally. I'm hoping this will just be a repeat of that.

Oh, and that reminds me of something -- personally, I find sex enjoyable just for itself, though of course orgasms are really, really nice. I say this, though, because if any woman has ever faked an orgasm with me, I don't know why she bothered. Really, won't hurt my ego in the slightest. I mean, I really do want who I'm with to have a good time. But, if she's saying we're done, and she hasn't gotten there yet ... yeah, I don't see how I should try and force her to get off. I mean, if it aint gonna happen it aint gonna happen ... and personally, I think sex can be fun all by itself, even without the earth-shattering ending.

All that to say, due to this problem of mine, I've actually faked an orgasm or two. Now, consider that, ladies -- do you really want a guy to have to pretend? I mean, we either do or we don't, right? It's not a statement about the other person, or even necessarily that the sex was not that good.

In fact, there was a person who I just told a couple of times, "It's just not going to happen. Don't worry about it, tho." I didn't tell her that it was because of antidepressants ... but somehow it just didn't seem a conversation I felt like having right at that moment.

But yeah -- if you can still ring your own bells and whistles, don't take it for granted. Some of us out here are just living in an orgasm-less universe, and I gotta tell ya -- really not so much fun.

Thoughts?

latest:
Passing Strange, Indeed
- 2008-12-16@12:44 p.m.
Kim
- 2008-05-28@10:47 p.m.
What's New
- 2008-05-20@11:16 p.m.
Hey, Kim
- 2008-01-18@9:18 a.m.
Christmas Was Weird
- 2008-01-03@8:11 p.m.

<< previous | next >>

...passing strange .