"normal" was a few blocks back...

.
. . Comfortable Shoes .
.

new
archives
profile
email
notes
100 things
diaryland

in which we share the secret of life
2004-03-07 @ 2:27 p.m.


Y'know, seriously -- if there's only one thing, I mean only one thing I'm allowed to say, like a single sentence I could send back in time to tell, say, my 12 year old self, as far as how he should live his life, the right and wrong choices and all, and how he might best avoid the pitfalls that I stumbled into, I really think it would be: Dude, seriously -- stick to sensible shoes.

And let me say, I'm fully aware that there's all sorts of apparently torturous footwear that women can wear, to far outdo most of guys stuff -- um, but really I don't think I would have spent a whole lot of time in heels even if I were a woman. Even a really short one. Or whatever, my point applies either way: Male or Female, Jew or Gentile, whoever and where ever you are, for the love of god -- just make sure you generally wear nice, comfortable shoes. Really. Your body will thank you for it.

Worked eight hours as a club bitch last night. More fun by miles than the previous night, probably for one just because it was my second rather than first night as security (tho, my first night actually checking for fake ids at the door -- really bad at that part. ah well.) but moreover I think due to my realizing the point I've made above. You see, how I've chosen footwear in my life up to this point has generally been functionality ... I mean, the entire time I was a technician, jobs required steel toe boots as a safety measure. Not really a whole lot of stylistic or comfort variablity there.

I wore sneakers more often when I was younger, but again even for casual events my practical mind won out there -- I've worn the same pair of Docs for years and years now, basically because they haven't worn out. Which, really, is why I bought them, as I'd had previous pairs of boots before that degraded pretty quickly.

But ya know, the old DMs, god bless em, while they are nice, durable, classically stylish shoes, really comfort isn't the highest priority up there, I don't think. I mean, not if you're going to be on your feet more than say, oh, a couple of hours a day. And even in such a case, I would like to further advise my 12 year old self, it simply doesn't make sense to say to oneself, "Well, wearing these really aren't all that comfortable, but I'll only have them on a short while (or, I won't be standing much)." Why be in discomfort if you can help it? Just senseless.

Um ... so, yeah. Oh, at some point last night a particular lady who was flirting with me to make her boyfriend jealous was saying how my new workplace is "definitely where the beautiful people are." She went on to say she'd "never seen so many beautiful men in one place in her life." Which, really, I suppose hadn't really escaped my attention -- I mean, I was certainly aware that even amongst those hired the genetically lucky were conspicuously over represented. Well, if we're a hot-looking staff, some of our clientele are really like rockstar gorgeous. Really, there were at least a few people you couldn't help but look at if they were near you -- and this is in a place already filled to the brim with an endless variety of attractive people.

So of course, I've felt it slightly sticking in my throat when I've conversationally chatted with customers that I'd probably be there on a Saturday anyway. Of the huge bar crowd in my neighborhood that I am remarkably quite knowledgeable of and known by, I've thus far seen one person in this place that I recognize. And I mean, my friends kinda go out every night, at least certainly every weekend night. And they usually bar hop. And, at some point, they usually end up wanting to dance. But, not in this place.

Oh, did I mention the one girl I recognized was hurriedly leaving when we saw each other?

I mean, it's not that it's a bad place, it actually is really rather a cool place -- but, unless you're gorgeous, well dressed, and steeped enough in cash to not count it, really not a place I think you'd take to hanging out regularly. In the least, as I myself am short on at least two of the above qualifications, I don't think I'd be hanging out too much.

Oh, the girl I know suggested that I stop by the bar at which I've normally hung out with her, because we haven't seen each other in a while. (Oh, and something funny about this particular girl -- she and I have flirted but not so much as kissed, but I've been in a bed with her while she had sex with another girl. Life amongst regular drinkers can be quite odd.

Hmmm... finishing up thought:

1. If you do go out to the fancy clubs, consider: Valets - tipped, waitstaff, bartenders - tipped, barbacks and bussers - tipped out, management, well paid. Security? Meh.

2. A tidbit I learned: For Americans above the drinking age, 70% of the population account for 10% of the alchohol consumed yearly, while the remaining 30% drink -- yeah, the other 90%, clearly. So, the crowd (that I've normally been a part of) who are regularly being herded out the doors at closing time? Not actually "normal" drinkers.

3. With all the fantastically cute women around, I've so far had exactly one invitation to someone's home after the bar -- from a nicely dressed, pretty big guy probably in his forties. Said something about how my gorgeous smile always gets me my way, as I distractedly walked away. Sometimes, it's good that security's job is never done.

4. Hm. Okay, one last thing: since you won't tip us, please hug your security guys to let them know you appreciate the job they're doing. And if you're female, you can even feel free to let the hug linger just a bit.

That is all. As you were, company.

Thoughts?

latest:
Passing Strange, Indeed
- 2008-12-16@12:44 p.m.
Kim
- 2008-05-28@10:47 p.m.
What's New
- 2008-05-20@11:16 p.m.
Hey, Kim
- 2008-01-18@9:18 a.m.
Christmas Was Weird
- 2008-01-03@8:11 p.m.

<< previous | next >>

...passing strange .