"normal" was a few blocks back...

.
. . I'm A Frickin Cyborg .
.

new
archives
profile
email
notes
100 things
diaryland

in which we clarify why sensible footwear is essential
2004-03-08 @ 7:12 p.m.


Oh, I just recalled and wanted to mention ... for anyone not familiar with us here at passing strange, or only recently so ... well, and also an update for those who've been around for quite a while. One of whom, especially, my prayers have been with of late -- I would have said something if -- you know, if I were somehow useful enough to have anything to say.

But, I can hopefully be a source of amusement: The point I wasn't mentioning in the entry Comfortable Shoes is that I'd broken my ankle back in early September. Well, mid Semptember. Anyway, I was on crutches for a couple months ... um, actually able to walk a reasonable distance with no assistance overall by about ... mid January?

So, I get this new job as security at some new hipster club, yes? Well, because we're supposed to be such a swanky place, security does not sit down. And, pretty much, there's maybe oppurtunity for a five minute break once a night, before the long haul of ushering everyone out. And most of the time, really, we're not standing, but walking. Often, at a passing quick pace ...

So yeah, after my initial 5 hour shift, I went out and spent over $100 for new, oversized shoes to better allow for the othoticcs I'd been prescribed a few weeks earlier, plus the actual ankle brace that I still need ... um, okay, the point is when it's all done, for all that I'm sure I actually stand taller, walk more powerfully and purposefully, and overall seem far more energetic and fluid, the fact is underneath my clothes I feel kind of like Forrest Gump must have as a kid ... you know, with those leg brace things?

Which, really, always kind of reminded me of the classic gait of Frankenstein -- which is to say, tho the result of all this is that I seem to move much more naturally, a side effect is that I feel like I should just be thankful I'm still more man than machine.

But of course, I say I feel more like Forrest than Frankie because, though the Monster may have been the original, really ... who's gonna make fun of Frankenstein for walking funny? I mean, he'd crush your head, right? I mean sure, you could take your chances talking behind his back ... but, seeing as he's not too bright, why ever even take your chances?

Alternately, you could pretty much gang up on Forrest and kick the snot out of him. Which is really more like how I feel.

Um. Except that, as security, I'm actually part of a gang, so ... um, I don't know.

Anyway, I'm just sayin'.

Thoughts?

latest:
Passing Strange, Indeed
- 2008-12-16@12:44 p.m.
Kim
- 2008-05-28@10:47 p.m.
What's New
- 2008-05-20@11:16 p.m.
Hey, Kim
- 2008-01-18@9:18 a.m.
Christmas Was Weird
- 2008-01-03@8:11 p.m.

<< previous | next >>

...passing strange .