"normal" was a few blocks back...

.
. . Aw Crap... .
.

new
archives
profile
email
notes
100 things
diaryland

in which we guess it'll have to do
2004-02-25 @ 9:09 a.m.


It's 9am. Do you know why you're awake?

My stupid new job is forcing all of us to take these tests -- I mean, it's four hours a day of training, and every night there's a few tests to study that they'll quiz you on the next day. Very much a hassle, as most of what I'm being tested on is not stuff that will ever come up in my actual job. As well, I am still trying to catch up on the schoolwork I've fallen behind on, so adding in their little assignments makes me oh so happy.

Realistically speaking, I don't think I should be going out at all, not this weekend and probably not the next one. Am I the only person who gets to feeling guilty for neglecting their friends? I mean, I can point out that I'm trying to get my crappy life together -- somehow I think it just seems to everyone that I'm avoiding the hell out of them. Of course, if they didn't give me reasons to want to avoid them, I guess they'd be less likely to feel that way, wouldn't they?

But gah... I just wrote one of my most horrible papers ever. I mean, ever. I dunno, I guess I just wasn't feeling it. But I was greatly disturbed at how it was turning out, even by the middle of the second page -- sadly, it's the only topic I have to fit the assignment, and this assignment was in fact due last week, so having it ready for tonight is really my only option -- much as it pains me to say so, I suppose I'll be content enough with a C on this one, as content-wise it's really quite crappy.

I did get an A on the first paper, the one that a while back I was bitching about another class member going hyper-editor on. In the instructors notes, she said I've a "very idiosyncratic writing style" and that she found herself wanting to make some changes, too. But, she didn't. She suggested that in the future I consider my audience more, and what it would sound like being read out loud. Well, okay. But you still gave me an A. So to my mind, my idiosyncratic writing style is just cool and froody. In fact, it would be anyways, but if she graded me down I'd be willing to alter it just to get a decent grade.

*sigh*. Y'know, I think the next couple o months will kinda suck. I'm only one paper behind for my Monday night class, but I've also a much longer paper that's due that day as well. And while I'm sure there were other assignments for this writing class that are due tonight, they're gonna have to take the back burner, as I've a statistics test tomorrow night and haven't done homework for that class for two weeks. Had I mentioned that I suck at statistics? Pray for me.

In other news, tho I wasn't going to say anything, I was kind of amused by this: Finally taking my (ex) therapist's advice to heart re my drinking and pot habits, I actually did go to a chemical dependency couselor yesterday for an evaluation. After maybe thirty minutes of a nice causual conversation, she sez, "Well, you need to go into treatment." To which I respond, somehow with actual surprise, "Really?" The part that amused me? She sez, "OH, yeah..." Like, "if no one else in the world needs it, you definitely do.

Well. Alright then. She'z the professional, I suppose. Another quote that somewhat amused me internally: "Yeah, you're way beyond casual use."

Okay, is it just me or -- did all you guys know that being a pothead was bad for you? I mean, who would have guessed?

Besides that, I finally have an appointment this afternoon to see a doc and have an orthotic made for my shoe, which apparently will aide in the final healing up of my previously broken ankle. That should be quite nice. But beyond that -- classes I'm already behind in and am not innately talented at, a job that I suspect will take itself way too seriously considering it's just a restaurant, and now apparently I'll be finding room to learn how being a pothead really isn't any better than being a crackhead. Well, at least I'll be there on my own hook, as to court-mandated. (Yeah, I was slightly taken aback by that one myself -- oh, I'm electing to do something that usually people are forced to do by the law? Rock on!) And besides all this, I would really, really like to move within the next couple months, because I'm just sick of my current place at this point.

So ... lessee: Crazy, under-employed, a total half-assed student, apparently in need of drug treatment and living in a pretty crappy building. Honestly ladies -- y'all might still want to try and snatch me up, while the snatching is good. I mean, how am I supposed to stay single with all of this going for me?

Thoughts?

latest:
Passing Strange, Indeed
- 2008-12-16@12:44 p.m.
Kim
- 2008-05-28@10:47 p.m.
What's New
- 2008-05-20@11:16 p.m.
Hey, Kim
- 2008-01-18@9:18 a.m.
Christmas Was Weird
- 2008-01-03@8:11 p.m.

<< previous | next >>

...passing strange .