"normal" was a few blocks back...

.
. . Somethin That Bugs .
.

new
archives
profile
email
notes
100 things
diaryland

in which we are just kinda crabby
2004-02-23 @ 2:23 p.m.


Not related to anything or anyone in particular, but ya know somethin that kinda bugs me? The ubiquitous term "hubby" for any married woman on the net. Yeah, I know -- "husband" seems kinda formal, and really how should you refer to him?

Well. How about his name? There's a thought. Or, if you don't want to use his actual name, make up something a bit more personal than "hubby".

I think my problem with this is partly a reflection of a off-line world irritation. Now, if I'm talking to you and I don't know your boyfriend or girlfriend, husband or whatever -- by all means, so that I know who you're talking about, feel free to say "MY _____." But it bugs the shit out of me when I know both people, and suddenly they're only referred to by relation to the person I'm talking to. I mean, I've even had situations where I knew the person referred to longer than their new SO had ... so when I knew Janie five years before you met her, in fact met you through her, how does it make sense that you should tell me a story referring to her as "my girlfriend." What, is this some different person than the one I've known for five years?

And yeah, we may argue that I don't know any of the people online who are calling their husbands "hubby". Or their husbands. It's still irritating for some reason.

Gah. Tho really, the fact that I'll probably be dropping at least one of my classes this semester because I'm too far behind might be said to be a bit more irritating.

Thoughts?

latest:
Passing Strange, Indeed
- 2008-12-16@12:44 p.m.
Kim
- 2008-05-28@10:47 p.m.
What's New
- 2008-05-20@11:16 p.m.
Hey, Kim
- 2008-01-18@9:18 a.m.
Christmas Was Weird
- 2008-01-03@8:11 p.m.

<< previous | next >>

...passing strange .