"normal" was a few blocks back...

.
. . Dig My Self Destruction .
.

new
archives
profile
email
notes
100 things
diaryland

in which we are not allowed to destroy others
2004-04-28 @ 3:13 p.m.


I've resisted the urge to punch holes in my wall, which is good since 1) If I did so I'd obviously end up having to pay for repairing them, and 2) this is a pretty old building, and odds are I'd break my hand before doing any satisfactory damage to the walls. Oddly enough tho, sometimes even fucking up your hand is quite satisfying, when the other option is to simply contain your rage.

But contain I have, and I've even finished reading the play I need to read for my writing class. Will I be able to actually write my paper before class starts in a couple of hours? Dunno. Honestly, don't care that much.

Tell ya what I do care about, tho. Tonight I will drink myself blind, and see if I can come up with even more than a broken ankle this time around. Why the fuck not.

I may or may not have fun getting wasted, but that is irrelevant considering that I won't really remember too many particulars of the night. So we might ask, then, why bother doing it? If I'll probably not enjoy it, and won't remember it even if I do?

Well, I'll tell you. I'm not the kind of guy to go out and start fights. Nor to be unreasonably bitchy to those around me. I don't kick dogs, behave rudely to service industry types, or purposefully cut people off in traffic. No, I don't take the anger that one person has caused within me and inflict it upon some other poor unassuming schmuck.

What's more? Unless you're actively bothering me now, I can't really be bothered to plot for vengeance against anyone who's actually pissed me off in the past. Sure, if I was a voodoo master, there's a lot of people who would be in some deep shit right about now. But I'm not, so if I didn't catch you right when you screwed me you probably just got away with it. Just not into that whole arms-escalation type mentality.

So what's a guy to do? Quite pissed off, yet still unwilling to take it out on others?

Take it out on myself, of course. Why the fuck not.

By and large, I really am a good person. And y'know what? Kinda sick of that guy right about now.

Let somebody else strive to be earnest and shit for a while. Tonight I'll be as useless and shallow as the world that created me.

It's a celebration. Enjoy yourself.

Thoughts?

latest:
Passing Strange, Indeed
- 2008-12-16@12:44 p.m.
Kim
- 2008-05-28@10:47 p.m.
What's New
- 2008-05-20@11:16 p.m.
Hey, Kim
- 2008-01-18@9:18 a.m.
Christmas Was Weird
- 2008-01-03@8:11 p.m.

<< previous | next >>

...passing strange .