"normal" was a few blocks back...

.
. . Dig My Strange Egoism .
.

new
archives
profile
email
notes
100 things
diaryland

in which we manage humilty and self-centeredness at once
2006-06-12 @ 4:17 p.m.


So even tho I'm working every day these days, I took off of work yesterday so I could go to a wedding. Actually, I'd wanted to take today off as well, so I could stay out late partying with the wedding peeps, but no one wanted to pick up the shift so that never happened. Plus, I actually had to take a guy to court today -- that was weird, I'm suddenly the voice of authority to speak for someone who can't speak for himself. But that was really mostly sitting around all day, and during the actual talking bits I did mostly let him speak for himself, excepting the parts he kinda missed.

I was kinda irritated at the guy, because once actually there he could spew all the details about what got him there that he'd claimed not to remember at all to me and other staff ... essentially, I had to worry about how I was going to convince them not to put his ass in jail for no reason. Well, there's a new court date set, so I'm just gonna let him worry about getting out of that one himself.

Just kidding, of course -- if I didn't want to help take care of (even frustrating) people who need it, I wouldn't be aiming for what I am for my career.

Anyhow, I couldn't help but be struck by the contrast of how uncertain I felt taking this guy to court (even if I did volunteer to do it) versus how much -- well, how I felt like The Man at the wedding yesterday.

First of all, I was nearly two hours late for the whole shindig. Absolutely obnoxious of me, I know, but while I did feel as a friend that I should show up, I didn't feel any need to pretend to being formal for it. So I missed the whole ceremony and most of the dinner, and only caught the very last two of the speeches. That's right, I was just in time for the old folks and strangers to leave, and the drunken partying to begin.

That's just my style, really.

And it's weird, as opposed to feeling truly contrite about missing the ceremony, I really kind of felt like I was doing everyone a favor by actually showing up -- and I will tell you why. Yes, I will.

You see, these people who just got married would never have met if not for me. These two would be the other best friends of my Lesbian Best Friend and (Repressed) Gay Best Friend. That is, they are good friends of my friends who I've known for many years as a result, yet the whole time we all hung out I think we all kind of knew who the "A" string and "B" stringers were.

At least from my perspective: However undeniably strange I may be, I also have a certain charisma that can't be ignored. Oh, it can be disliked, but not ignored. Now, GBF and LBF are both genuinely nicer people than me -- less serious-minded overall, and really just more cheerful, friendly, outgoing people. Thus, back when I was more social and outgoing, and no longer wanted to divide my time between the two, the three of us became the nexus of a whole social scene. The newly married peeps? Met thru this scene.

I knew them both for years before the met each other. As I was driving home last night, I thought of an analogy that would of course come quite natural to me -- it's like I'm the superhero. The two BF's would then be my sidekicks. Absolutely crucial themselves, but still kinda defined by the hero. And what are you then, if you are the hanger-on to a sidekick?

The day these lovely folks met, it was because GBF was unavailable to hang out and the groom-to-be was bored, and because LBF was willing to hang out but didn't want to do it one-on-one. So she brought the bride-to-be to my neighborhood and called to see if I would join. I didn't want to leave her alone with a sometimes-tiresome person, so I figured to grab another, and thought maybe they could amuse each other.

What followed was a tumultuous courting, set against the backdrop of the social scene I'd learned to loathe way back when I began this journal. And frankly, lo these years later -- I can't help but think, amidst all the toasts and speeches and what not, amidst all the recalling of meetings and romances and events and whatnot -- even if it's not said, how can it not seem that this, the most central event in either of your lives, is but a background event that flowed from the narrative of a much more compelling character?

What? I said egoism, right?

Thoughts?

latest:
Passing Strange, Indeed
- 2008-12-16@12:44 p.m.
Kim
- 2008-05-28@10:47 p.m.
What's New
- 2008-05-20@11:16 p.m.
Hey, Kim
- 2008-01-18@9:18 a.m.
Christmas Was Weird
- 2008-01-03@8:11 p.m.

<< previous | next >>

...passing strange .