"normal" was a few blocks back...

.
. . "Dont You EVER Do That Again..." .
.

new
archives
profile
email
notes
100 things
diaryland

in which we are proud of our restraint
2004-01-29 @ 4:32 p.m.


Weeelll, being as I'm all about the coolest and everything, tonight I get to go to one of my very first Serious Psych Classes, completely empty-handed of the work that is due -- in fact, I just today broke the sacred wrapper on the books I bought, so really I don't suppose the instructor could yell at me too much. Okay, so I'm starting off the semester horribly. I'll probably be late for this class, too. Um, if I make it at all, considering that my car has yet again decided it's too cold to crank over.

But ya know, none of that's really bothering me, somehow. What did bother me? Last night, I did make it to that writing class, and true to my school's style one of the things we did in this class was "peer editing."

Now, this being our very first paper and such, all we were supposed to edit for was grammar and spelling stuff -- y'know, "no mistakes" and all that. The paper I got was from someone who really needed a lot of help... but true to the instructor's suggestion that we keep in mind that these are fellow students, and these are their stories and so on, I did my best to only correct the most glaring of errors, and beyond that left him to whatever grade he would get on his own.

Guy who had my paper? He was editing it still a good fifteen minutes after I was done with the other guy's paper. I mean, this is a five page paper. I'm sitting there thinking, WTF? And I get my paper back -- okay, let me admit my faults: going through it, I did have one spelling error (used "as" when I meant "at") and had four misplaced commas.

But this little fucker went through rearranging whole fucking sentences. He'd wipe out entire phrases as extraneous. He crossed out words I'd chosen and wrote in ones he thought fit better.

Kids, I cannot tell you how much restraint it took me to not turn around and leap over that table and grab him by his little hyper-editing neck. Peer editing? Who the fuck does this little jerk think he is? Apparently my style just aint clear enough for his little vanilla ass -- leaving aside the fact that we were not supposed to be editing for style!

God, I spent more time erasing all the crap he wrote in than I had editing the other guy's paper. Yes dude, we were supposed to edit one another's papers. But very little was wrong with mine, ya little asswipe.

I swear, I feel like standing up in front of the class next time we meet to say: Listen people. I know this is an introductory writing class, but I've written a lot of college papers. And I've gotten A's on all of them. Unless you can say the same thing, don't even think about fucking changing anything I wrote.

Ya fuckin dimwit.

Thoughts?

latest:
Passing Strange, Indeed
- 2008-12-16@12:44 p.m.
Kim
- 2008-05-28@10:47 p.m.
What's New
- 2008-05-20@11:16 p.m.
Hey, Kim
- 2008-01-18@9:18 a.m.
Christmas Was Weird
- 2008-01-03@8:11 p.m.

<< previous | next >>

...passing strange .