"normal" was a few blocks back...

.
. . I Have No Idea What Emo Sounds Like .
.

new
archives
profile
email
notes
100 things
diaryland

in which we find it hard to be upset
2003-12-16 @ 4:22 a.m.


I was just reading someone bitching about how "emo as a lifestyle" is lame, and I realized: I've heard the word "emo" a million times, I have some vague idea of it being like club/techno/any of those other beat-driven synthesizer-heavy types of music ... but the fact of the matter is, I couldn't give you a single example of emo if my life depended on it. I mean, not an artist, song, or even a club that plays it.

So I've decided that officially, no matter how many young hipsters I know, I am now officially outside of "youth culture". You know that thing about "never trusting anyone over 30"?

Well, I guess there's some point to that. Because not only do I not know what emo is ... I also have no desire to know what emo is.

Certainly, if I knew someone who was in love with emo, and they wanted me to listen to something, I'd give it a try -- I appreciate music way too much to be closeminded about such things -- but as far as any desire of my own ... meh.

Far as it goes, I was never real big into industrial music, tho I did like some ... but as I'm not a dancing machine, all that techno/rave kinda stuff (seems there've been a million permutation of it) really just left me cold. So I guess it's none too likely that I'd like the evolved versions, if the originals did nothing for me.

Of course, entirely possible that "emo" is nothing like techno, and I'm really missing out on something ... but yeah, somehow I find it kinda hard to be uspet about it.

Thoughts?

latest:
Passing Strange, Indeed
- 2008-12-16@12:44 p.m.
Kim
- 2008-05-28@10:47 p.m.
What's New
- 2008-05-20@11:16 p.m.
Hey, Kim
- 2008-01-18@9:18 a.m.
Christmas Was Weird
- 2008-01-03@8:11 p.m.

<< previous | next >>

...passing strange .