"normal" was a few blocks back...

.
. . I'm Just A Man Whose Intentions Are Good .
.

new
archives
profile
email
notes
100 things
diaryland

in which we pray not to be misunderstood
2003-11-28 @ 9:29 p.m.


Well. How is the post-Thanksgiving bliss going for all you lovely people?

Myself, I've slept all through the day, which of course I could only accomplish by turning off the ringer on my phone ... and yes, it has been fantastic.

Have I ever said how amazing my dreams are? I mean, they didn't always used to be -- but for some time now, I don't have nightmares or even unpleasant dreams pretty much at all. And the cool thing is, pretty much somehow my subconcious has made it so that things always go pretty well for me in my dreams.

Like, you know how for computer games you can often get cheat codes, the most extreme of which is "god"? Where you can't be hurt at all, and often times this comes hand in hand with unlimited ammo or something similar. That's kinda how my dream self has become. I mean, not that my dreamscape is a re-creation of "Half-Life" or anything ... it's usually pretty much normal life and everything.

I think all it is, is that my ever-growing ego has begun to be reflected in my dreams. I might just be a normal (if slightly odd) guy in the real world, but in my dreams I am absolutely positively The Man. Which, really, is kind of fun to be.

The funny thing about it, tho -- you might imagine that given the ability to be absolutely as cool as you wanna be in your dreams, some might choose to be ... you know, like you have fighting abilities where you could kick Neo's ass, even inside the Matrix ... you're such a heartbreaker that even supermodels sigh and wish they could only be yours, if only for a moment ... and you know, you're so wise that 90 year old monks come down off of their mountains to seek you out for answers.

However, strangely enough, that's not what I'm like in my dreams. Honestly, I think it's probably because, even in a dream state, some part of my mind would start saying "bullshit" if I tried to be that over the top.

Nah, I'm not really all that different from my real self in my dreams. I dunno, if I can think of any unrealistic aspect, I pretty sure I've never given money even a single thought in any of my dreams.

But no, besides that -- the thing that makes my dreams so fun is that I somehow become just a Master Communicator in my dreams. Hell, you might as well say I become telepathic. I simply lose the ability to be misunderstood. If there's something I want for someone to understand, in my dreams that person will eventually see what I mean. Doesn't necessarily mean they'll even do what I want ... just that they will understand.

If you think about it, that's no small thing. How many people do you think there are in the world who would really understand absolutely anything you might think or feel, should you decide to try and communicate it? I mean really, as far as real-life communication goes, I think I'm even a little bit above average in my abilities there -- yet still, I think that I'm misunderstood on a fairly regular basis. It's just part of the human condition -- we all live in our own heads, and anything we hear/see/experience is filtered through that.

But nah, in my dreams, man -- hey, if I feel like I wanna drop some wisdom on ya, damn if you ain't gonna feel it. Now: You may ask yourself if, in my dreams, I always have such wisdom that it's so worth everybody else's time that they should be so interested in understanding me.

To which I would reply: It ain't just in dreams, kids. Even in the real world, I often enough think that some particular people could really benefit if they understood this or that thing that I do, and which they certainly seem not to.

The only problem is, if you think one thing and someone is trying to suggest something to you that is counter to it, it seems a natural enough response to see that as some sort of attack, and therefore do what you can to resist it.

So I guess that's another difference about my dreamscape. There, pretty much people realize there's not much in it for me to try and screw them over.

And if you think about it -- how useful is that even in the real world?

Meh. I've work to do now. You all have fun in your endeavors, 'kay?

Thoughts?

latest:
Passing Strange, Indeed
- 2008-12-16@12:44 p.m.
Kim
- 2008-05-28@10:47 p.m.
What's New
- 2008-05-20@11:16 p.m.
Hey, Kim
- 2008-01-18@9:18 a.m.
Christmas Was Weird
- 2008-01-03@8:11 p.m.

<< previous | next >>

...passing strange .